Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Deer Creek Speedway

Chad Simpson belts field in series opener at Deer Creek

April 18, 2010, 7:44 am
From series and track reports
Chad Simpson collects his check at Deer Creek. (jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)
Chad Simpson collects his check at Deer Creek. (jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. (April 17) — Polesitting Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led all 35 laps at Deer Creek Speedway to earn $2,000 in the Dart Corn Belt Clash kickoff.

The 31-year-old Simpson, the two-time World Dirt Racing League champ who is looking for a new home after WDRL folded in the off-season, raced to victory in his third start of 2010.| Profile of rookie driver Kevin Sather | Slideshow

Chad Mahder of Eau Claire, Wis., was second while eighth-starting Adam Hensel of Barron, Wis., edged third-starting Dave Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa, for the third spot. Late Model rookie Kevin Sather of Ankeny, Iowa, was fifth ahead of 13th-starting Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa.

Simpson's younger brother, Chris, started alongside him on the front row but fell back to fifth on the first lap and finished seventh.

The only caution appeared on the first lap for a three-car pileup that required a restart.

Notes: Chad Simpson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Volvo-GMC, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Five Star Shop Service. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Nick Kramer, Nick Herrick and Curt Schroeder. ... The night's racing drew 130 race cars overall. ... Next up for Corn Belt Clash competitors is a May 7 event at Farley (Iowa) Speedway.

Corn Belt Clash Kickoff: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Chad Mahder, (3) Adam Hensel, (4) Dave Eckrich, (5) Kevin Sather, (6) Jason Utter, (7) Jake Redetzke, (8) Chris Simpson, (9) Keith Foss, (10) Curt Martin, (11) Eric Pember, (12) Tim Isenberg, (13) Kelly Anderson, (14) Doug Herrick, (15) Jake Meier, (16) Andrew McKay, (17) Kyle Jumbeck, (18) Mike Prochnow, (19) Jerry Bloom, (20) Chris Schroeder, (21) Justin Sass, (22) Cory Mahder, (23) Craig Schueffner, (24) Nick Beyenhof. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Anderson, Sass, Hensel, Chad Simpson. Consolation winners: Jumbeck, Cory Mahder.

Correction: Fixes Chad Mahder as runner-up.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728