Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lincoln Speedway

Harris, Babb scare up first series victories

April 18, 2010, 5:24 am
From series reports

LINCOLN, Ill. (April 17) — First-time series winners Brian Harris of Davenport, Iowa, and Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., earned $2,000 apiece for victories in double features on the Monster Midwest Series on Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

In the makeup feature from an April 2 rainout, Harris topped reigning series champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., for his first series victory. Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., finished third followed by Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., and Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill.

In the regular feature, Harris started on the front row in an attempt at a sweep of the night's racing, but Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., Babb and Feger battled for the lead in the early going.

Shirley fell from contention on the 24th lap when he slipped off the frontstretch berm amid lapped traffic, and Steve Sheppard Jr. of New Berlin, Ill., joined the battle up front.

After a caution appeared for an infield tire barrier that was knocked across the track by a competitor, Babb outran Sheppard for the victory while Erb finished third. Feger and Harris rounded out the top five at the quarter-mile oval in central Illinois. Polesitter Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., was 11th.

Notes: Harris drives a Ray Neltner-owned No. 75. ... Babb's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Petroff Towing, Sheltra & Sons Construction and Donley Trucking. ... The April 17 event was originally scheduled to Spoon River Speedway in Banner, Ill., but the track promoter cancelled the event and it was moved to Lincoln, where series promoter Don Hammer promotes weekly racing. ... The series takes a month-long break before returning to action May 21 at Kankakee County (Ill.) Speedway for a $3,000-to-win event.

Makeup feature: (1) Brian Harris, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Kevin Weaver, (4) Brandon Sheppard, (5) Dennis Erb Jr., (6) Eric Smith, (7) Brian Shirley, (8) Ryan Unzicker, (9) Steve Lance, (10) Steve Sheppard Jr., (11) Shannon Babb, (12) Donny Walden, (13) Bobby Pierce, (14) Derek Chandler, (15) Chuck Mitchell, (16) Jon Rogers, (17) Cory Daugherty, (18) Mike Mataragas, (19) Kerry Mathew, (20) Joe Harlan, (21) Charley Hess, (22) Ryan Little, (23) Rich Bell.

Regular feature: (1) Shannon Babb, (2) Steve Sheppard Jr., (3) Dennis Erb Jr., (4) Jason Feger, (5) Brian Harris, (6) Bobby Pierce, (7) Brandon Sheppard, (8) Eric Smith, (9) Kevin Weaver, (10) Joe Harlan, (11) Ryan Unzicker, (12) Derek Chandler, (13) Donny Walden, (14) Scott Schmitt, (15) Brian Shirley, (16) Ryan Little, (17) Steve Lance, (18) Rich Bell, (19) Charley Hess, (20) Jason McBride. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Babb. Heat race winners: Babb, Shirley, Harris. Consolation winner. E. Smith.

Monster Midwest points

(Through April 17)
1. Jason Feger - 215
2. Shannon Babb - 190
3. Brian Shirley - 179
4. Dennis Erb Jr. - 178
5. Brandon Sheppard - 170
6. Ryan Unzicker - 166
7. Kevin Weaver - 165
8. Brian Harris - 145
9. Charley Hess - 127
10. Steve Sheppard Jr. - 127
Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728