Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lucas Oil Speedway

Purkey leads all the way at Lucas Oil Speedway

April 11, 2010, 7:58 am
From series reports
MLRA officials check out action at Wheatland. (Mike Musslin)
MLRA officials check out action at Wheatland. (Mike Musslin)

WHEATLAND, Mo. (April 10) — Six-time series champion Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., led all 30 laps at Lucas Oil Speedway for a victory on the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association worth $3,000.

Purkey started outside the front row and outran polesitter Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Ill., en route to his 47th career series victory. Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., was third followed by Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., and Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark. John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., who won last weekend's series opener in Greenwood, Neb., was 11th. | Slideshow

Notes: Purkey's Hatfield-powered Larry Shaw race Car is sponsored by Billy's Cafes, Purkey's Auto Salvage, Taylormade Performance and Integra Racing Shocks. ... The victory was Purkey's first at Lucas Oil Speedway. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Chris Smyser, Gary Stolba, Matt Furman, Rickey Frankel, Jason Bodenhamer and Justin Asplin. ... Jesse Stovall won the modified feature. ... Next up for MLRA competitors is a May 15 event at Nevada (Mo.) Speedway.

Lucas Oil MLRA @ Wheatland: (1) Al Purkey, (2) Jeremy Payne, (3) Kelly Boen, (4) Brad Looney, (5) Jack Sullivan, (6) Eric Turner, (7) Chad Simpson, (8) Terry Phillips, (9) Dave Eckrich, (10) Gary Christian, (11) John Anderson, (12) Wendell Wallace, (13) Jason Bodenhamer, (14) Raymond Merrill, (15) Joe Kosiski, (16) Chris Spieker, (17) J.D. Hubert, (18) Jason O'Brien, (19), Evan Hubert, (20) Zack Simmons, (21) Bill Koons, (22) Larry Jones, (23) Cliff Morrow, (24) Denny Woodworth. Heat race winners (among 48 cars): Purkey, Koons, Jones, Eckrich, Payne. Consolation winners: Merrill, Anderson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728