Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

I-80 Speedway

Berck gets title, but Boen grabs 11th NCRA victory

September 27, 2009, 11:15 am
From series reports
Kelly Boen celebrates NCRA victory No. 11. (fastrackphotos.net)
Kelly Boen celebrates NCRA victory No. 11. (fastrackphotos.net)

GREENWOOD, Neb. (Sept. 26) — Taking the lead with two laps remaining, Kelly Boen captured the Cornhusker Classic at I-80 for a co-sanctioned victory worth $3,000. The 12th-starting Boen overtook Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., to earn his record-setting 11th O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association victory of the season and his fifth victory on the O'Reilly Midwest LateModel Racing Association. | Slideshow

Berck finished second but collected his second career O'Reilly NCRA championship. Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., was third with Al Humphrey of Giltner, Neb., and Leon Zeitner of La Vista, Neb., rounding out the top five.

Reigning O'Reilly MLRA leader John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., entered the event with a 58-point lead over Purkey, but that margin shrunk when engine problems forced Anderson out of the feature on the with a 22nd-place finish.

Among cautions was an early wreck exiting turn one that involved several cars and sent Ron Tex's car into a flip. Corey Zeitner's car was also heavily damaged in the accident, but no one was seriously injured.

Notes: Boen's Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Road Runner Fabrication, AFCO, Intensitee Custom Racewear and RaceWise Dirt Track Chassis School. ... Boen won six of the last seven NCRA events. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Jason Hobscheidt, Shad Badder, Bill Leighton and Scott Koskovich. ... Because provisional starter Chris Smyser had engine trouble, Badder lended his ride to Smyser for the main event. ... The NCRA season is complete but MLRA racers head to Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., on Oct. 2-3. Friday's feature pays $3,000 to the winner and Saturday's pays $5,000.

Cornhusker Classic: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Kyle Berck, (3) Al Purkey, (4) Al Humphrey, (5) Leon Zeitner, (6) Bryant Goldsmith, (7) Jason Friesen, (8) Justin Zeitner, (9) John Hampel, (10) Jason O'Brien, (11) Denny Woodworth, (12) Craig Preble, (13) Mike Collins, (14) Mike Wiarda, (15) Matt Johnson, (16) Jason Bodenhamer, (17) Bill Koons, (18) Jase Kaser, (19) Joe Kosiski, (20) Allen Zeitner, (21) Chris Smyser, (22) John Anderson, (23) Corey Zeitner, (24) Greg Larsen,) 25 Steve Kempt, (26) Ron Tex. Heat race winners (among 46 cars): Humphrey, Larsen, Collins, Anderson, Prebel. Consolation winners: A. Zeitner, Woodworth. Provisional starters: Bodenhamer, Smyser, O'Brien, Goldsmith.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728