Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cedar Lake Speedway

Legendary 100 gives Terry Anvelink first Cedar Lake victory

September 20, 2009, 7:10 am
From track reports
Terry Anvelink makes his first visit to Cedar Lake's victory lane. (Stan Meissner)
Terry Anvelink makes his first visit to Cedar Lake's victory lane. (Stan Meissner)

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. (Sept. 19) — Veteran Terry Anvelink of Navarino, Wis., fought off a late challenge by Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., to capture the Late Model portion of the Legendary 100 at Cedar Lake Speedway.

Anvelink earned $5,000 for his first career victory at the western Wisconsin oval while Redetzke, winner of one of the semifeatures at the four-day event, settled for second in the 40-lapper. Nick Anvelink, the winner's son, was third with Ashley Anderson of Eau Claire and Cory Mahder of Elk Mound, Wis., rounding out the top five. NASCAR track champion Rick Egersdorf of St. Paul, Minn., finished 10th. | Video

Polesitter Brent Larson took the lead early with the Anvelinks, Redetzke and Mahder in pursuit at the outset. Larson led eight laps before Terry Anvelink took command, and son Nick dropped Larson to third two laps later.

With a long stretch of green-flag racing, the Anvelinks held the top two spots at the halfway mark, but Redetzke took second from the younger Anvelink on lap 21. Adam Hensel slowed two laps later, bunching the field for a restart.

On the restart, Don Copp spun in turn two and was pushed to the infield for the final caution as the final 17 laps went straight through. The elder Anvelink edged away from Redetzke as Larson faded, eventually dropping out of the top five.

In the final laps, Redetzke was able to close Terry Anvelink's leading margin and was right on the leader at the white flag. Redetzke made a hard charge exiting turn four on the final lap, but Anvelink held on for the victory.

Legendary 100: (1) Terry Anvelink, (2) Jake Redetzke, (3) Nick Anvelink, (4) Ashley Anderson, (5) Cory Mahder, (6) Brent Larson, (7) Joel Cyrderman, (8) Mike Nutzmann, (9) Darrell Nelson, (10) Rick Egersdorf, (11) Keith Foss, (12) Brad Waits, (13) Chad Mahder, (14) Rick Hanestad, (15) Jake Hartung, (16) Mike Goodremote, (17) Scott Gilberts, (18) John Henkemeyer, (19) Jesse Redetzke, (20) Eric Pember, (21) Adam Hensel, (22) Don Copp, (23) Pat Doar, (24) Steve Laursen. Semifeature winners: Jake Redetzke, Larson. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Copp, Pember, Laursen, Jesse Redetzke. Consolation winners: Foss, Hanestad. Last-chance winner: Hartung.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728