Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Belleville High Banks

Hands-off Berck rolls to Belleville victory

September 8, 2009, 2:42 pm
From series reports
Kyle Berck celebrates at Belleville. (Justin Sly)
Kyle Berck celebrates at Belleville. (Justin Sly)

BELLEVILLE, Kan. (Sept. 6) — The crew's reluctance to make changes on Kyle Berck's No. 14 race car helped the Marquette, Neb., driver grab a flag-to-flag O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association victory at the Belleville High Banks. | Slideshow

"I came in after the heat races and wanted to make a couple of minor changes but my crew told me to leave it alone," an elated Berck said in victory lane. "The car was absolutely on a rail tonight and worked perfect."

Berck, the NCRA points leader who inched closer to his first series title since 2002, built nearly a straightaway lead on Bryant Goldsmith of Corning, Iowa, midway through the race, but that was erased by a caution with three laps remaining. But Goldsmith and third-running Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., were no match for Berck, who pulled away to complete the 20-lap feature and earn $2,500.

Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., going his record-setting sixth straight NCRA victory and 11th of the season, missed hot laps because of ignition problems and had to start on the tail of his heat and the 21-car feature. He finally got going in the feature, rallying to finish fifth.

Notes: Berck's Lazer Chassis is sponsored by Dorothy Lynch Salad Dressing and Strobel Construction. ... Al Purkey rallied from eighth to finish third. ... Delbert Smith piloted Bryant Goldsmith's backup car. ... NCRA competitors wrap up the season Sept. 26 with an event at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb., a race co-sanctioned by the O'Reilly MLRA tour.

O'Reilly NCRA @ Belleville: (1) Kyle Berck, (2) Bryant Goldsmith, (3) Al Purkey, (4) Jason Friesen, (5) Kelly Boen, (6) Earl Kinderknecht, (7) Jason Bodenhamer, (8) Jimmy Segraves, (9) Jason O'Brien, (10) Bill Koons, 11) John Kuchar, (12) Mike Collins, (13) Ted Martin, (14) Brian Bolster, (15) Delbert Smith, (16) Kelly Dunn, (17) John Anderson, (18) Scott Koskovich, (19) Scott Daly, (20)
Wylan Petrie, (21) David Brack. Heat race winners: Goldsmith, Berck, Earl Kinderknecht.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728