Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hibbing Raceway

Hill shocks Dart Challenge foes with first-ever win

September 7, 2009, 9:24 am
From series and correspondent reports
Gregg Hill enjoys his first-ever feature victory. (Ken Johnson)
Gregg Hill enjoys his first-ever feature victory. (Ken Johnson)

HIBBING, Minn. (Sept. 5) — Winless in any division for 30 years, Gregg Hill of Eveleth, Minn., captured the first night of the Labor Day Shootout at Hibbing Raceway. Hill earned $3,500 in the WISSOTA-sanctioned Dart Challenge Series event and was got a hero's welcome in the pits with people lining up to congratulate him.

Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., started on the pole and had a six-length lead when he snapped a driveshaft with five laps remaining. Hill, running a solid second, inherited the lead and edged away from former track champion and fellow Eveleth racer Harry Hanson for the victory. Brent Larson of Lake Elmo, Minn., Hibbing's Roger Paolo and Canadian Joel Cryderman of Thunder Bay, Ontario, rounded out the top five. Series points leader Lance Matthees of Winona, Minn., was 11th.

Labor Day Shootout: (1) Gregg Hill, (2) Harry Hanson, (3) Brent Larson, (4) Roger Paolo, (5) Joel Cryderman, (6) Jake Hartung, (7) Darrell Nelson, (8) Bob Reed, (9) John Kaanta, (10) Kevin Carlson, (11) Lance Matthees, (12) Hank Berry, (13) Darin Meierotto, (14) Tommy Waseleski, (15) Kelly Anderson, (16) John Hinkemeyer, (17) Terry Lillo, (18) Cory Jorgensen, (19) Kyle Gavel, (20) John Meeds, (21) Pat Doar, (22) Jake Redetzke, (23) Mark Heinle, (24) Tim Carlson, (25) Todd Gehl. Heat race winners (among 54 cars): Jorgensen, Meeds, Larsen, Cryderman, Paolo. Consolation winners: Berry, Waseleski.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728