Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Quincy Raceway

Woodworth leads all but two laps at Quincy

September 7, 2009, 8:37 am
From series reports

QUINCY, Ill. (Sept. 6) — Denny Woodworth of Mendon, Ill., made short work of his Deery Brothers Summer Series foes with a long run at the front of Sunday night’s main event at Quincy Raceway. Woodworth led all but the first two times around the track in the 50-lapper, taking the $2,000 IMCA-sanctioned victory comfortably ahead of runner-up and hometown driver Mark Burgtorf.

Season-best finishes went to Darrel DeFrance, competing at his 350th consecutive series event, in third and to Justin Reed, who passed 14 cars and ended in fourth. Jason Perry ran fifth, his best finish in just three career Deery feature starts.

A trio of cautions came out before the first lap was scored. Perry started on the pole and led two circuits before the third starting Woodworth zoomed by on the bottom line.

Terry Neal and Ray Guss Jr. took the opening green from the fourth and 12th spots, respectively, and worked their way up to fight over second. That duel came to an end when the pair got together on lap 33 and brought out the caution, which resulted in both being sent to the rear of the field for the restart.

The tussle for second fell to Perry, DeFrance and Burgtorf, who frequently went three wide in their mutual pursuit of Woodworth. Burgtorf eventually gained the advantage while Reed snuck into the top four.

The win was Woodworth’s Deery Series career second; his previous victory came April 30, 2008, at Quincy.

Deery Brothers @ Quincy: (1) Denny Woodworth, (2) Mark Burgtorf, (3) Darrel DeFrance, (4) Justin Reed, (5) Jason Perry, (6) Gary Russell, (7) Fred Remley, (8) Jeff Aikey, (9) Jerry Weisenberger, (10) Rob Toland, (11) Ray Guss Jr., (12) T.J. Criss, (13) Jason Frankel, (14) Terry Neal, (15) Nick Ingalls, (16) Lonnie Bailey, (17) Keith Pratt, (18) Robby Warner, (19) Dustin Neese, (20) Sam Halstead, (21) Tom Goble, (22) Bill Genenbacher, (23) Charlie McKenna, (24) Greg Kastli. Heat race winners: Burgtorf, Criss, Perry, Russell. Consolation winners: Aikey, Frankel.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728