Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Federated Raceway at I-55

Vaught grabs $5,000 MARS victory at I-55

August 30, 2009, 7:50 am
From series reports
Will Vaught visits I-55's victory lane. (Ron Mitchell)
Will Vaught visits I-55's victory lane. (Ron Mitchell)

PEVELY, Mo. (Aug. 29) — Leading every lap from the pole position, Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., won at I-55 Raceway for his first O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series victory in two years. The 2006 series rookie of the year earned $5,000 for his third career MARS victory. | Slideshow

Randy Korte of Highland, Ill., rallied from his 10th starting spot to finish second with fellow fifth-row starter Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., in third. Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., and Bryan Collins of Elsberry, Mo., rounded out the top five. Eric Turner of Springfield, Ill., who entered the race leading MARS points, advanced sixth positions to finish 12th, one spot behind Terry Phillips of Springfield, his closest pursuer in the title chase.

O'Reilly MARS @ I-55: (1) Will Vaught, (2) Randy Korte, (3) Dennis Erb Jr., (4) Bill Frye, (5) Bryan Collins, (6) Brian Shirley, (7) Kevin Weaver, (8) Jeremy Payne, (9) Ed Dixon, (10) Tim Manville, (11) Terry Phillips, (12) Eric Turner, (13) Frank Heckenast Jr., (14) Jason Feger, (15) Ron McQuerry, (16) Brandon McCormick, (17) Tony Jackson Jr., (18) Michael Kloos, (19) Jeff Johns, (20) Rickey Frankel, (21) Tim Ratajczyk, (22) Rylan Long, (23) Darrell Mooneyham, (24) Dylan Sharp. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Dixon, Collins, Vaught, Shirley. Consolation winner: Heckenast. Provisional starters: Mooneyham, Long, Sharp, Feger.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728