Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Highland Speedway

Feger nabs 5th Monster Midwest victory at Highland

August 23, 2009, 2:46 pm
From track and series reports
Jason Feger takes the checkered flag. (de-photos.com)
Jason Feger takes the checkered flag. (de-photos.com)

HIGHLAND, Ill. (Aug. 22) — Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., won his series-leading fifth race of the season with a Monster Midwest Tour victory at Highland (Ill.) Speedway. Feger earned $2,000 and tightened up the series points chase with Ryan Unzicker and Eric Smith, who entered the race tied for the lead.

Hometown driver and fast qualifier Randy Korte finished second followed by another Highland driver, Chad Zobrist. Frankie Martin of DuQuoin, Ill. was fourth and Unzicker, of El Paso, Ill., was fifth, one spot better than Bloomington's Smith

Notes: Feger's Pierce Race Car is sponsored by SVC Construction, Advanced Racing Suspensions, Pro Tire and Automotive, Mulligan's, Campbell Construction and La Bamba. ... Feger is locked in a tight battle with two-time and reigning champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., for overall UMP points crown. Erb won the same night in another UMP-sanctioned satellite series, taking the Northern Allstars event at La Salle (Ill.) Speedway. ... Monster Midwest Tour competitors head to Quincy (Ill.) Raceway on Sunday.

Monster Midwest Tour @ Highland: (1) Jason Feger, (2) Randy Korte, (3) Chad Zobrist, (4) Frankie Martin, (5) Ryan Unzicker, (6) Eric Smith, (7) Rodney Melvin, (8) Rick Salter, (9) Donny Walden, (10) John Cory, (11) Mark Oller, (12) Mark Faust, (13) Jason Zobrist, (14) Mike Schulte, (15) John Beck, (16) Marty Smith Jr., (17) Michael Jacober, (18) Paul Bailey, (19) Brent Helmkamp, (20) Michael Kloos, (21) Dave Thornton, (22) Kerry Gaultney, (23) Dick Taylor, (24) Steve Leach. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Korte. Heat race winners: Korte, Faust, Unzicker. Consolation winner: Taylor.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728