Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lucas Oil Speedway

Moyer nabs 34th career MLRA victory at Wheatland

August 23, 2009, 7:47 am
From series reports
Winner Billy Moyer (21) battles runner-up John Anderson. (fastrackphotos.net)
Winner Billy Moyer (21) battles runner-up John Anderson. (fastrackphotos.net)

WHEATLAND, Mo. (Aug. 22) — Hall of Famer Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., won dozens of O'Reilly Midwest LateModel Racing Association events early in the history of the 21-year-old tour, and he dropped back in on the tour Saturday at Lucas Oil Speedway for another dramatic victory. Rallying from his 14th starting spot to take the lead with two laps left, Moyer earned $3,000 at the state-of-the-art dirt oval for his 34th career MLRA triumph. | Slideshow

Reigning series champion John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., was second in the 40-lapper after leading laps 34-38, but that was good enough to move into the series points lead over Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., who struggled to a 15th-place finish. Dave Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, was third followed by Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., and Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo.

Denny Woodworth of Mendon, Ill., started on the pole with Eckrich charging into the early lead. The quick-starting Moyer was up to third by the ninth lap and when Eckrich began battling traffic midway through the race, Anderson and Moyer chased down the leader. Anderson overtook Eckrich on the 34th lap, but Moyer slipped past Anderson with two laps remaining for the victory.

Notes: Moyer's Victory Circle Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from Banner Valley Hauling, J & J Steel, Karl Chevrolet, Minx Show Palace, and Car City. ... Moyer captured his second regional touring victory in a row, following a Friday night victory at Beebe (Ark.) Speedway on the O'Reilly Mid-South Racing Association. ... Only two cautions slowed the feature, including when David Turner made hard contact with the turn-three wall early in the race. ... Jeremy Payne spun on the first lap for the first caution. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Will Vaught, Brandon McCormick, Tony Jackson Jr., Larry Clawson, Andrew McKay, Jeremy Kelley, Bryan Goldsmith, Al Humphrey, Chris Hawkins and Shane Essary. ... O'Reilly MLRA competitors wrap up the weekend with a Sunday event at State Fair Speedway in Sedalia, Mo., for the Missouri State Fair Championships. The O'Reilly WoW Sprint Cars are also in action.

O'Reilly MLRA @ Wheatland: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) John Anderson, (3) Dave Eckrich, (4) Brad Looney, (5) Terry Phillips, (6) Eric Turner, (7) Rickey Frankel, (8) Denny Woodworth, (9) Pat Doar, (10) Rylan Long, (11) Chris Smyser, (12) Mike Collins, (13) Jeremy Payne, (14) Jason Bodenhamer, (15) Al Purkey, (16) Evan Hubert, (17) J.D. Hubert, (18) Joe Kosiski, (19) Mark Voigt, (20) Brantlee Gotschall, (21) Larry Jones, (22) Scott Koskovich, (23) David Turner, (24) Alan Vaughn. Heat race winners (among 43 cars): Gotschall, Looney, Payne, Woodworth, Collins. Consolation winners: Frankel, Bodenhamer. Provisional starters: Smyser, Kosiski.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728