Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Iowa State Fair Speedway

Aikey stretches points lead with fourth victory

August 19, 2009, 8:10 am
From series reports

DES MOINES, Iowa (Aug. 18) — Another blue ribbon-worthy performance resulted in another Deery Brothers Summer Series feature win for Jeff Aikey. The Waterloo, Iowa, driver stretched his advantage in the series point standings with his fourth victory of the season Tuesday night at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway.

After catching Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., for the lead on lap 10, Aikey ran in front to the finish of the state fair show. He caught up with the back of the field late in the 35-lapper and took the checkers most of a straightaway in front of Guss.

The $2,000 win was the career 52nd for Aikey, gunning for his sixth Deery crown. Jay Johnson of West Burlington, Iowa, Tommy Elston of Keokuk, Iowa, and Jason Frankel of Quincy, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Hometown driver Todd Cooney drew the pole start and led the first three circuits. Guss took over following an early restart and set the pace before losing the front spot to Aikey.

Consolation race transferee Craig Jacobs moved up 13 positions to finish eighth. Terry Neal was challenging Guss for second before coming to stop on the track at midway. He restarted at the back and ended in 13th.

Deery Brothers @ Iowa State Fair: (1) Jeff Aikey, (2) Ray Guss Jr., (3) Jay Johnson, (4) Tommy Elston, (5) Jason Frankel, (6) Rob Toland, (7) Jason Hahne, (8) Craig Jacobs, (9) Fred Remley, (10) Colby Springsteen, (11) Brett Diercks, (12) Todd Cooney, (13) Terry Neal, (14) Al Johnson, (15) Darrel DeFrance, (16) Charlie McKenna, (17) Ryan Griffith, (18) Greg Kastli, (19) Chad Cooney, (20) T.J. Criss, (21) Ryan Giles, (22) Josh Most, (23) Justin Kay, (24) Sam Halstead. Heat race winners: Guss, Neal, Cooney, Elston, Aikey. Consolation winners: Most, DeFrance.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728