Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dodge City Raceway Park

Red-hot Boen laps field for Dodge City victory

August 17, 2009, 8:48 am
From series reports
Kelly Boen's team celebrates at Dodge City. (Dusty Wiegert)
Kelly Boen's team celebrates at Dodge City. (Dusty Wiegert)

DODGE CITY, Kan. (Aug. 15) — Five-time series champion Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., continued his domination on the O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association by lapping the field for a victory at Dodge City Raceway Park. The polesitting Boen earned $2,500 for his ninth NCRA victory of the season, fourth in a row and eighth in the past nine. | Slideshow

Fifth-starting Bryant Goldsmith of Corning, Iowa, was within a half-track margin of Boen with six laps remaining in the 30-lapper, but engine problems forced him out.

Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., finished second followed by Jason O'Brien of Omaha, Neb., and series points leader Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., who had a flat tire on the first lap.

The race was slowed by a single lap-one caution for outside front-row starter Jake Neighbors, who drifted high in turns three and four on the first lap and came to a stop. He eventually dropped out with a 14th-place finish at the picturesque 3/8-mile oval in western Kansas.

Notes: Boen's Rocket Chassis has a Jay Dickens engine sponsored by Road Runner Fabrication and Peterson Fluid Systems. ... Kyle Berck leads the series with 4,160 points over Boen (3,955) and Jason O'Brien (3,695). ... Two more races are scheduled to wrap up the NCRA season. First on Sept. 6 at the Belleville (Kan.) High Banks and Sept. 26 at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb.

NCRA @ Dodge City: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Mike Wiarda, (3) Jason O'Brien, (4) Kyle Berck, (5) Jimmy Seagraves, (6) Bo Egge, (7) Scott Koskovich, (8) Ronnie Warman, (9) Mike Collins, (10) David Brach, (11) Todd Doty, (12) Wylan Petrie, (13) Brian Bolster, (14) Jake Neighbors, (15) Brad Wagoner, (16) Dave Conkwright, (17) Bryant Goldsmith, (18) Ted Martin. Heat race winners (among 18 cars): Boen, Neighbors. Consolation winner: Collins.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728