Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Moler Raceway Park

Marlar earns $3,000 as Rayburn's tour debuts

August 15, 2009, 4:09 pm
From track reports
Mike Marlar won at Moler. (Moler Raceway Park)
Mike Marlar won at Moler. (Moler Raceway Park)

WILLIAMSBURG, Ohio (Aug. 14) — Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., won the first-ever National All Star Racing Association event Friday at Moler Raceway Park. The fourth-starting Marlar, who overtook outside front-row starter Scott James on the 21st lap, earned $3,000 in the Ike Moler Memorial, an event that's part of a new tour founded by Hall of Fame chassis builder C.J. Rayburn.

James, of Lawrenceburg, Ind., led the first 20 laps and settled for second followed by sixth-starting Greg Johnson of Mitchell, Ind., fast qualifier Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., and 14th-starting Wayne Chinn of Bradford, Ohio. Polesitter Audie McWilliams of Walton, Ky., ended up ninth.

Marlar drove a car powered by an aluminum crate engine that gave him a 200-pound weight break over cars using open-competition powerplants according to rules on the new tour.

Ike Moler Memorial: (1) Mike Marlar, (2) Scott James, (3) Greg Johnson, (4) Justin Rattliff, (5) Wayne Chinn, (6) Aaron Ridley, (7) Eric Wells, (8) Steve Barnett, (9) Audie McWilliams, (10) Christian Rayburn, (11) John Whitney, (12) John Sizemore, (13) Arnie Fields, (14) Barry Doss, (15) Robby Hensley, (16) Bobby Wolter Jr., (17) Chad Stapleton, (18) Mike Meyers, (19) Larry Pickelheimer Jr., (20) Jeff Shackelford, (21) Duane Chamberlain, (22) Josh McGuire. Fast qualifier (among 39 cars): Rattliff, 14.007 seconds. Dash winner: McWilliams. Heat race winners: Ridley, Barnett, Stapleton, Whitney. Consolation winner: Wolter.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728