Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-City Speedway

Polesitting Feger gets first MARS win at Tri-City

August 8, 2009, 4:26 am
By Brian Garrison
O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series
Jason Feger's team celebrates at Tri-City. (Ron Mitchell)
Jason Feger's team celebrates at Tri-City. (Ron Mitchell)

GRANITE CITY, Ill. (Aug. 7) — Heading for Friday's race at Tri-City Speedway, Jason Feger's Facebook status reflected his disenchantment with the passing points system used by the O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series. But the 31-year-old Bloomington, Ill., driver didn't let the lineup procedures for the visiting Missouri-based tour slow him much.

Starting on the pole, the high-running Feger raced to a $3,000 victory at the 3/8-mile oval, earning his first career MARS triumph. He notched his second special event victory at the track this season, following his June 24 UMP DIRTcar Summernationals victory.

Springfield, Mo., teammates and MARS regulars Jeremy Payne and Terry Phillips chased Feger to the checkered flag after starting together in the second row while semi-active driver Billy Drake of Bloomington rallied from 18th to finish fourth. Series regular Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., rounded out the top five after starting outside the front row. MARS points leader Eric Turner of Springfield, Mo., was 14th.

Notes: Feger's Pierce Race Car is sponsored by SVC Construction, Advanced Racing Suspensions, Pro Tire and Automotive, Mulligan's, Campbell Construction and La Bamba. ... The victory was Feger's 11th overall of 2009. ... Tri-City points leader Mark Voigt of Marine, Ill., was 18th after starting outside the third row. ... Consolation race winner Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., rallied to finish seventh. ... The series completes a weekend at tracks promoted by Kevin and Tammy Gundaker with a $3,000-to-win event Saturday at Lake Ozark Speedway in Eldon, Mo.

MARS @ Tri-City: (1) Jason Feger, (2) Jeremy Payne, (3) Terry Phillips, (4) Billy Drake, (5) Tony Jackson Jr., (6) Bryan Collins, (7) Brian Shirley, (8) Chad Zobrist, (9) Brad Looney, (10) Ryan Unzicker, (11) Brandon McCormick, (12) Billy Laycock, (13) Randy Korte, (14) Eric Turner, (15) Brian Diveley, (16) Jeff Beyers, (17) Rick Salter, (18) Mark Voigt, (19) Tim Manville, (20) Rylan Long, (21) Darrell Mooneyham. (22) Leroy Johnson. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Voigt, Jackson, Payne, Korte. Consolation winner: Shirley. Provisional starters: Mooneyham, Johnson.

O'Reilly MARS points

(Through Aug. 7)
1. Eric Turner - 1,278
2. Terry Phillips - 1,236
3. Jeremy Payne - 1,216
4. Brandon McCormick - 1,068
5. Tony Jackson Jr - 1,011
6. Darrell Mooneyham - 723
7. Rylan Long - 649
8. Wendell Wallace - 618
9. Al Purkey - 517
10. Bill Frye - 513
Sponsor 1195
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728