Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hawkeye Downs Speedway

Aikey captures Deery Brothers asphalt outing

August 6, 2009, 10:00 am
From series reports

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa (Aug. 5) — Jeff Aikey proved again that he’s just as fast on asphalt as he is on dirt. The Waterloo, Iowa, driver led the last 31 times around the half-mile oval in winning Wednesday’s Dirt At The Downs Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at Hawkeye Downs Speedway.

The victory, his third of the season, career fourth at Cedar Rapids and IMCA Late Model tour 51st, paid $2,000. Jason Frankel of Quincy, Ill., second behind Aikey in the series point standings, ran in the runner-up spot most of the way. Terry Neal of Ely, Iowa, Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., and Rob Toland of Davenport, Iowa, rounded out the top five.

Neal, piloting Rick Dralle’s car after his own ride expired early in the evening, drew the pole start but Aikey made his move from outside row two and was at the front of the field when the fourth lap was scored.

He was pulling away before catching up with the back of the pack on the 11th circuit. Frankel made up most of the distance as the two ran in lapped traffic, trying unsuccessfully high and low to make his way into first.

The front pair continued to negotiate their way through backrunners as the race ran caution-free. Johnny Spaw passed nine cars and finished sixth.

The 23rd annual series returns to dirt for a midweek doubleheader, on Tuesday, Aug. 18 at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines and Wednesday, Aug. 19 at Marshalltown (Iowa) Speedway.

In the driver’s seat to capture a career sixth Deery championship, Aikey takes a 37-point advantage over Frankel to Des Moines. Guss remains in third, another 10 points off the pace.

Deery Brothers @ Hawkeye Downs: 1. Jeff Aikey, (2) Jason Frankel, (3) Terry Neal, (4) Ray Guss Jr., (5) Rob Toland, (6) Johnny Spaw (7) Tyler Bruening, (8) Darrel DeFrance, (9) Bobby Hansen, (10) Dale Stolte, (11) Charlie McKenna, (12) T.J. Criss, (13) Greg Kastli, (14) Joe Zrostlik, (15) Rob Petsche, (16) Justin Kay. Heat race winners (among 17 cars): Aikey, Toland.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728