Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

La Salle Speedway

Unzicker picks up $2,000 La Salle victory

August 2, 2009, 11:34 am
By Betty Glynn
La Salle Speedway
Ryan Unzicker's team visits victory lane. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Ryan Unzicker's team visits victory lane. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

La SALLE, Ill. (Aug. 1) — Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., led all the way from the pole position at La Salle Speedway for a Northern Allstars Late Model Series victory. Unzicker earned $2,000 for the 30-lap victory.

Only occasional traffic hampered Unzicker as he raced to his second victory of the season at La Salle. Third-starting Frank Heckenast Jr. of Orland Park, Ill., was second followed by Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill. Sheppard's father Steve rallied from the sixth row to finish fourth and Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., rounded out the top five in the 20-car field. | Slideshow

Notes: Unzicker's No. 24 is sponsored by RJR Transportation, Pro Tire & Automotive and Topsy's Tavern. ... Unzicker's previous victory at La Salle came May 28 on the Monster Midwest Tour, another UMP DIRTcar-sanctioned satellite series. ... The green flag dropped on the feature at 9:16 p.m. ... Front-row starter Mike Provenzano of Grand Ridge, Ill., finished 18th. ... Bret Sievert of New Berlin, Wis., ran second early but ended up 17th. ... Dennis Erb Jr. and Jason Feger, the top two drivers in series points, were no-shows while competing at the unsanctioned USA Nationals at Cedar Lake (Wis.) Speedway. ... Only two more races remain on the Northern Allstars schedule: Aug. 22 at La Salle and Sept. 18 at Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway.

Northern Allstars @ La Salle: (1) Ryan Unzicker, (2) Frank Heckenast Jr., (3) Brandon Sheppard, (4) Steve Sheppard Jr., (5) Kevin Weaver, (6) Ralph Markham, (7) Ted Loomis, (8) Roger Markham, (9) Jason Jaggers, (10) Rich Bell, (11) Scott Schmitt, (12) Zack Busch, (13) Ed Williams Sr., (14) Jon Small, (15) Jim Loomis, (16) John Piccatto, (17) Bret Sievert, (18) Mike Provenzano, (19) Jeff Small, 20) Greg Wagner. Heat race winners: Provenzano, Heckenast, Unzicker. Consolation winner: Jon Small.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728