Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Farmer City Raceway

Friedman fends off Erb for Farmer City victory

July 25, 2009, 10:50 am
From series reports
Daren Friedman (89) battles Eric Smith (9). (Rich Edwards Jr.)
Daren Friedman (89) battles Eric Smith (9). (Rich Edwards Jr.)

FARMER CITY, Ill. (July 24) — High-running Daren Friedman of Forrest, Ill., raced to victory on the Monster Midwest Tour at Farmer City Raceway. Friedman, who started outside the front row, fought off a late challenge from Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., for the $2,000 victory in the 40-lap main event. | Slideshow

Erb finished second in the sixth series race followed by polesitter Eric Smith of Bloomington, Ill., Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., and fast qualifier Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill.

Notes: Friedman's Rocket Chassis has an Estes Racing Engine and sponsorship from J.R. Electric, PDK Tree Service and Pontiac RV. ... Friedman has at least a half-dozen victories this season, including a regular-season win May 22 at Farmer City. ... Eric Smith's third-place finish moved him into the series points lead over seventh-finishing Ryan Unzicker, who entered the race on top of the series. ... Heat race winner Jason Feger was coming off a series victory the previous night at Charleston (Ill.) Speedway. ... The UMP-sanctioned tour completes the weekend with a Saturday event at Kamp Motor Speedway in Boswell, Ind., and a Sunday race at Vermilion County Speedway in Danville, Ill.

Monster Midwest Tour @ Farmer City: (1) Daren Friedman, (2) Dennis Erb Jr., (3) Eric Smith, (4) Kevin Weaver, (5) Joe Harlan, (6) Steve Sheppard Jr., (7) Ryan Unzicker, (8) Brandon Sheppard, (9) Donny Walden, (10) Dillan White, (11) Frank Heckenast Jr., (12) Rocky Griffin, (13) Jimmy Dehm, (14) Kerry Mathew, (15) Scott Bull, (16) Jayme Zidar, (17) Chris Dick, (18) Kyle Logue, (19) Jason Feger, (20) Richie Hedrick. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Brandon Sheppard. Heat race winners: Jason Feger, Kevin Weaver, Dennis Erb Jr. Consolation winner: Scott Bull.

Correction: Updates finish, correcting fifth place; adds detail about Smith taking series points lead.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728