Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sports Park Raceway

Simpson digs up WDRL victory at Mineral City

July 14, 2009, 2:19 pm
From series reports

FORT DODGE, Iowa (July 14) — Series points leader and polesitter Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, regained the lead from fellow front-row starter John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., on the 19th lap Monday at Mineral City Speedway and raced to his third World Dirt Racing League victory of the season.

Simpson, who led the first eight laps before Anderson took over for 11 circuits, earned $6,800 from extra purse money put up by sponsor Mobil 1 at the first-ever WDRL event at the half-mile oval nestled within a rock quarry.

Simpson took command at the outset before Anderson tracked him down to lead the ninth lap in the caution-free event. Simpson moved back around Anderson amid lapped traffic just before the halfway point of the 40-lapper, and extended his lead as winningest series driver Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, worked his way toward the front.

Birkhofer, making his first series start of '09, started 11th in the 24-car field after a heat-race spin but finally got up to speed in the main event. Birkhofer took the second spot from Anderson late, but he didn't have enough time to catch Simpson.

Birkhofer settled for second with Anderson third. Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., was fourth and Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., rounded out the top five and lost ground to Simpson in the series points chase.

Notes: Winner Chad Simpson's No. 25 is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Volvo-GMC and Five Star Shop Service. ... Simpson went to a backup car after Sunday's WDRL event in Albion, Neb. ... Simpson has eight career WDRL victories. ... Representatives from new series sponsors Mobil 1 and Boyer Petroleum were at the event, which Mobil 1 adding an extra $5,000 to the total purse. ... The Mobil 1 No. 77 Sprint Cup car driven by Sam Hornish Jr., along with the Mobil 1 product trailer and a VIP tent were also set up ... Next up for WDRL competitors is three midweek events on July 28-30 at North Central Speedway in Brainerd, Minn., Superior (Wis.) Speedway and Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis.

Mobil 1 40: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Brian Birkhofer, (3) John Anderson, (4) Kyle Berck, (5) Al Purkey, (6) Chris Simpson, (7) Bryant Goldsmith, (8) Chad Mahder, (9) Jason Utter, (10) Denny Eckrich , (11) Dave Eckrich, (12) Rob Moss, (13) Eric Pember, (14) Skip Frey, (15) Sam Harroun, (16) Jason Rauen, (17) Tim Isenberg, (18) Bill Koons, (19) Ed Nelson, (20) Curt Martin, (21) Curt Schroeder, (22) Travis Mahaney, 23) Alan Mondus, 24) Jason Hahne. Fast qualifier (among 26 cars): Denny Eckrich, 16.913 seconds. Heat race winners: Purkey, Anderson, Dave Eckrich. Dash winner: Chad Simpson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728