Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Randolph County Raceway

Speedy Anderson completes mission at 24

July 12, 2009, 10:18 pm
By Dan Robinson
O'Reilly MLRA
John Anderson cruises toward victory. (fasttrackphotos.net)
John Anderson cruises toward victory. (fasttrackphotos.net)

MOBERLY, Mo. (July 11) — Reigning series champion John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., took the lead from Alan Vaughn of Belton, Mo., on the third lap and led the remainder of the Oscar White Memorial at 24 Raceway for his second O'Reilly Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory of the year. Anderson's 17th career MLRA victory paid $3,000. | Slideshow

Vaughn, a five-time MLRA champ who started outside the front row, settled for second with Tommy Elston of Keokuk, Iowa, in third. Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill., and polesitter Mark Voigt of Marine, Ill., rounded out the top five in the 40-lapper slowed by three yellow flags.

Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, broke an engine on the 18th lap, Jeremy Kelley of Walnut Grove, Mo., got into the wall on the 21st lap.

Notes: Anderson's Greg Junghans-owned MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Jay Dickens Engine and sponsored by Shop Quik Convenience Stores, Turbo Car Wash, Sunoco Racing Fuel, MarCorp Electric, REM Plastic Racing Products, and F.A.I.T.H. (Friends are in the House Youth Team). ... Sixth-finishing Rickey Frankel gave Quincy, Ill., two drivers among the top six; Frankel started 13th. ... Next up for MLRA competitors is a July 17 event at U.S. 36 Raceway in Osborn, Mo. On July 18, MLRA co-sanctions the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., the $10,000-to-win CMH Late Model Challenge.

Oscar White Memorial: (1) John Anderson, (2) Alan Vaughn, (3) Tommy Elston, (4) Mark Burgtorf, (5) Mark Voigt, (6) Rickey Frankel, (7) Chris Smyser, (8) Joe Kosiski, (9) Bryant Goldsmith, (10) Brantlee Gotschall, (11) Jason Bodenhamer, (12) Al Purkey, (13) Denny Woodworth, (14) David Turner, (15) Sam Harroun, (16) Larry Clawson, (17) Brett Wood, (18) Matt Johnson, (19) Bill Koons, (20) Skip Frey, (21) Jeremy Kelley. (22) Jeremiah Hurst. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Kosiski, Voigt, Burgtorf, Gotschall. Consolation winner: Woodworth.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728