Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Farley Speedway

Birkhofer outruns Farley foes for $10,000 payday

July 8, 2009, 3:19 am
By Mike Ruefer
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Brian Birkhofer (15B) battles Brian Shirley (3s). (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Brian Birkhofer (15B) battles Brian Shirley (3s). (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

FARLEY, Iowa (July 7) — Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, overtook Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., on the 28th lap and led the rest of the 50-lap Tornado Tuesday special event at Farley Speedway. The third-starting Birkhofer pocketed $10,000 for the unsanctioned victory on the fast and tacky half-mile oval. | Slideshow

Several drivers had tire problems during the race, and Birkhofer was no exception as his left-rear tire was deflating even as he celebrated in victory lane.

Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, who started 11th, took second from hometown driver Jason Rauen in the closing laps to finish second. Rauen, polesitter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., and outside front-row starter Andy Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, winner of the previous Tornado Tuesday on June 16.

Vaught, the night's fast qualifier, ended up spinning out after being passed by Birkhofer and finished 19th.

Several drivers pitted during the cautions, including Shirley, and 11 cars were on the track when the checkered flag fell.

Tornado Tuesday: 1. Brian Birkhofer, 2. Chad Simpson, 3. Jason Rauen, 4. Brian Shirley, 5. Andy Eckrich, 6. Darin Burco, 7. John Anderson, 8. Jeremiah Hurst, 9. Dave Eckrich, 10. Scott Brewer, 11. Keith Foss, 12. Dan Shelliam, 13. Joel Callahan, 14. Jim Brokus, 15. Becky Roth, 16. Mike Fryer, 17. Denny Eckrich, 18. Jill George, 19. Will Vaught, 20. Curt Martin, 21. Chris Simpson, 22. Jason Utter. Scratched: Jeff Larson, Bryant Goldsmith, Jon Rogers. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): Vaught, 19.228 seconds. Heat race winners: Anderson, Birkhofer, Vaught. Dash winner: Shirley.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728