Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Fayette County Speedway

Foss nips Aikey in first Corn Belt Clash race

June 27, 2009, 10:20 am
From series reports

WEST UNION, Iowa (June 26) — Keith Foss of Winona, Minn., won a photo finish over Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, at Fayette County Speedway for a victory in the first-ever Corn Belt Clash Series event. Foss earned $2,000 in the Iowa-based, Cen-Pe-Co-sponsored tour event.

Chris Smyser of Lancaster, Mo., started on the pole of the 40-lapper with Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, leading early, but Foss took command and led most of the race. A lap-31 for debris reset the field and Aikey turned up the head on Foss in the late stages. Aikey went ahead on lap 32, but Foss stayed right with Aikey and pulled even at the white flag.

On the final lap, Foss dove under Aikey for a turn-three slide job, but Aikey jumped on the binders, dove back under Foss and drag-raced toward the checkers. Foss edged Aikey by inches at the line for the victory. Lance Matthees of Winona was third followed by Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, and Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa.

Notes: Foss drives a Warrior Race Car sponsored by Kuehn Trucking and Imperial Tool & Die. ... The new series is an evolution of the Indee Open series, and the tour is designed to put open-competition Late Models and spec-engine Late Models on an even playing field. ... The race was a make up from June 26 rainout. ... The next Corn Belt Clash event is scheduled for Thursday, July 2, at Highway 3 Raceway in Allison, Iowa.

Corn Belt Clash @ Fayette County: (1) Keith Foss, (2) Jeff Aikey, (3) Lance Mathees, (4) Chad Simpson, (5) Jason Rauen, (6) Chris Simpson, (7) Terry Neal, (8) Tyler Bruening, (9) Curt Martin, (10) Travis Smock, (11) Jeremy Grady, (12) Kurt Kile, (13) Bobby Hansen, (14) Paul Novotny, (15) Andy Altenburg, (16) Kevin Kile, (17) Joe Luedemann, (18) Jon Rogers, (19) Nick Kramer, (20) Rick Wendling, (21) Sam Harroun, (22) Darin Burco, (23) Rodney Combs, (24) Kevin Kirkpatrick, (25) Rick Dralle, (26) Chris Smyser, (27) Dustin Reeh. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Martin, Neal, Aikey. Consolation winner: Rogers.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728