Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Norman County Raceway

Skytland tops Johnson on NLRA at Norman County

June 25, 2009, 10:35 am
From series and correspondent reports
Cody Skytland celebrates his second career NLRA victory. (ornesscreations.com)
Cody Skytland celebrates his second career NLRA victory. (ornesscreations.com)

ADA, Minn. (June 24) — Zach Johnson outran Cody Skytland in a heat race at Norman County Raceway, but Skytland returned the favor with the money on the line. Skytland of Fargo, N.D., started outside the front row and won a duel with Johnson, of Kensington, Minn., for his second career victory on the Northern LateModel Racing Association. | Slideshow

Johnson, who started fifth in the main event, settled for second ahead of series points leader Ricky Weiss of St. Francois Xavier, Manitoba. Matt Aukland of West Fargo, N.D., rallied from 13th to finish fourth and Michael Johnson of Fargo, N.D., was fifth in the seventh NLRA event of the season. Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., winner of the previous two series events, settled for seventh after starting 10th.

Notes: Skytland's MasterSbilt Race Car has a Millar Racing Engine and sponsorship from BSB Manufacturing. ... Skytland, the 2006 co-champion on the series, won his previous NLRA event on June 10 that season at Devil's Lake (N.D.) Speedway. ... The Norman County event was the first of two nights of racing at the Norman County Fair. Midwest Modifieds highlight Thursday's action. ... Wednesday's racing drew 118 total race cars and 873 fans.

NLRA @ Norman County: (1) Cody Skytland, (2) Zach Johnson, (3) Ricky Weiss, (4) Matt Aukland, (5) Michael Johnson, (6) Tom Corcoran, (7) Brad Seng, (8) Jeremy Keller, (9) Mike Bruns Sr., (10) Jeff Provinzino, (11) Harold Schill, (12) Troy Schill, (13) Doyle Erickson, (14) Scott Johnson, (15) Greg Johnson, (16) Tim Jodsaas, (17) Steve Anderson, (18) Darin Zimmerman, (19) Myron Tschakert, (20) Mike McCaughan, (21) Craig Buness, (22) Joe Johnson, (23) Jake Bitker, (24) Kyle Peterlin. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Johnson, Seng, Bruns.

Correction: Fixes Skytland's hometown

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728