Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Farley Speedway

Andy Eckrich outruns Tornado Tuesday foes

June 17, 2009, 1:25 am
From track and correspondent reports
Andy Eckrich pulls into victory lane. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Andy Eckrich pulls into victory lane. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

FARLEY, Iowa (June 16) — Eighth-starting Andy Eckrich of Iowa City, Iowa, earned $10,000 for his victory in the unsanctioned Tornado Tuesday special at Farley Speedway. The former track champion, who took the lead from Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, on a lap 20-restart, outran Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., at the half-mile oval for one of the richest victories of his career. | Slideshow

Vaught, who made a lap-17 pit stop, settled for second. Simpson, the polesitter and early leader, rallied after pitting on the 22nd lap to change a flat tire and finished third. Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., who started 16th, and unheralded Jake Meier rounded out the top five at the Simmons Promotions track. Brian Birkhofer (lap 15) of Muscatine, Iowa, and Billy Moyer (lap 20) of Batesville, Ark., both fell out while running second.

Notes: Eckrich's Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Precision Performance and Noel's Tree & Crane Service. ... Billy Moyer Jr. broke in hot laps and piloted the No. 11 scheduled to be driven by Denny Hamlin two weeks earlier at Eldora Speedway's Prelude to the Dream. ... Steve Ihm won the non-qualifiers' race. ... Farley's next $10,000-to-win Tornado Tuesday is scheduled for July 7.

Tornado Tuesday: 1. Andy Eckrich, 2. Will Vaught, 3. Chad Simpson, 4. Jeff Larson, 5. Jake Meier, 6. Jason Rauen, 7. Chris Simpson, 8. Curt Martin, 9. Jon Rogers, 10. Jeremiah Hurst, 11. Jill George, 12. Ron Klein, 13. Dave Eckrich, 14. Billy Moyer Jr., 15. Billy Moyer, 16. Keith Foss, 17. Jeremy Grady, 18. Brian Birkhofer, 19. Dan Shelliam, 20. Bill Frye, 21. Denny Eckrich, 22. Tim Lance, 23. Chris Spieker.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728