Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lucas Oil Speedway

Phillips outruns Purkey for 95th MLRA victory

June 7, 2009, 8:30 am
By Dan Robinson
O'Reilly MLRA
Al Purkey (33) led one lap before Terry Phillips (75) took over. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Al Purkey (33) led one lap before Terry Phillips (75) took over. (fasttrackphotos.net)

WHEATLAND, Mo. (June 6) — Polesitter Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., led all but the first lap at Lucas Oil Speedway for his series-leading 95th career victory on the Midwest LateModel Racing Association. Phillips earned $3,000 in outrunning first-lap leader Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., for the victory that lasted just a dozen minutes. | Slideshow

Jeremy Payne of Springfield, the winner's teammate, rallied from 16th to finish third while John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., and Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., rounded out the top five in a race where Phillips lapped all but seven competitors.

Notes: Phillips drove a No. 75 GRT Race Car powered by a Hatfield engine and sponsored by Andy's Frozen Custard, Don Babb Motorsports and JFR Graphics. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Dewaine Hottinger, Shad Badder, Shawn Harker, David Barker, Larry Clawson, Bill Frye and Rickey Frankel. ... Jason Hughes finished a lap down in 10th in Steve Rushin's No. 14jr, the same car in which he made his Late Model debut two weeks earlier at the O'Reilly Show-Me 100 in West Plains., Mo. ... Next up for MLRA competitors is a June 13 event at Nevada (Mo.) Speedway.

O'Reilly MLRA @ Wheatland: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) Al Purkey, (3) Jeremy Payne, (4) John Anderson, (5) Jack Sullivan, (6) Alan Vaughn, (7) Brantlee Gotschall, (8) Eric Turner, (9) Chris Smyser, (10) Jason Hughes, (11) David Turner, (12) Jason Bodenhamer, (13) Brandon McCormick, (14) Denny Woodworth, (15) Matt Johnson, (16) Gary Stolba, (17) John Hampel, (18) Bryant Goldsmith, (19) J.D. Hubert, (20) Joe Kosiski, (21) Jerry Warner, (22) Scott Koskovich, (23) Mike Collins, (24) Aaron Seabaugh. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Anderson, Phillips, Smyser, Woodworth, Vaughn. Consolation winners: Stolba, McCormick.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728