Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Highway 3 Raceway

Elston takes command late, wins at Allison

May 21, 2009, 4:19 am
From series reports

ALLISON, Iowa (May 20) – Lead changes came fast and furious in the early going, but once Tommy Elston got back in front, the race was for the runner-up spot in Wednesday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series event at Highway 3 Raceway. Elston, of Keokuk, Iowa, caught Jeff Aikey of Waterloo, Iowa, as the 35-lapper counted down, then drove away for his second career victory on the IMCA Late Model tour circuit. The win at Allison paid $2,000.

Consolation race winner Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., moved up a dozen spots from where he took the initial green flag, then ran out of time in his bid to overtake Elston and settled for second. Aikey and former series champions Terry Neal, of Ely, Iowa, and Rob Toland of Davenport, Iowa, completed the top five.

Front-row starters Joe Zrostlik and T.J. Criss both did time at the front of the pack before giving way to Aikey, who led five times around the track before Elston moved ahead. Aikey regained the point on lap 15 and brought Elston along into lapped traffic just after midway. Cautions slowed the second half of the contest and kept the field close. Elston made his move back into first with 10 laps remaining as Guss advanced and hoped for an opportunity of his own.

Notes: Elston's car is sponsored by Richard Realty & Auction. ... Elston, who turns 40 on June 16, is piloting the No. 15 driven last year by Matt Strassheim. ... Elston’s first Deery Brothers victory came on April 13, 2001 at Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa. ... Jeff Aikey and Ray Guss Jr. will share the series point lead when the tour travels to Boone Speedway for the Monday, May 25 Memorial Day show.

Deery Brothers @ Highway 3: (1) Tommy Elston, (2) Ray Guss Jr., (3) Jeff Aikey, (4) Terry Neal, (5) Rob Toland, (6) Boone McLaughlin, (7) Jay Johnson, (8) T.J. Criss, (9) Darren Ackerman, (10) Jason Frankel, (11) Tyler Bruening, (12) Al Johnson, (13) Charlie McKenna, (14) Travis Smock, (15) Joe Zrostlik, (16) Bryan Klein, (17) Greg Kastli, (18) Bobby Hansen, (19) Tom Darbyshire, (20) Gary Webb, (21) Darrel DeFrance, (22) Justin Kay, (23) Dale Hackwell Jr., (24) Matt Strassheim. Heat race winners: Toland, Elston, Aikey, Webb. Consolation winners: Frankel, Guss.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728