Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Peoria Speedway

Steidinger fights off rallying Erb at Peoria

May 9, 2009, 2:55 am
DirtonDirt.com correspondents
Wes Steidinger races toward his $4,000 victory. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Wes Steidinger races toward his $4,000 victory. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

PEORIA, Ill. (May 8) — Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill., won a classic battle of a rallying Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., for a $4,000 victory in the Don Bohlander 65 at Peoria Speedway. | Slideshow

Steidinger blasted into the lead from his front-row position and held on to fight off Erb, who twice had to rally from the rear, once for a lap-seven flat tire and another time for a tangle with Brian Harris of Davenport, Iowa.

Steve Lance Jr. of Cuba, Ill., was third followed by Donny Walden of Towanda, Ill., and Harris on a moon-lit night in central Illinois. The event honors the legendary Bohlander, a 10-time track champion and seven-time Illinois State Champion. Hometown driver Charley Hess battled early among the leaders but lost a left-rear wheel to end his charge.

The event was a makeup from an April 25 rainout at the quarter-mile oval.

Notes: Steidinger's Rayburn Race Car has a Mullvain powerplant with sponsorship from Executive Homes and Pontiac RV. ... Steidinger shut down his family-backed team during the off-season but is running in 2009 in his car which is now owned by driver Russ Adams of Princeville, Ill. ... Steidinger plans a part-time schedule before running the complete UMP DIRTcar Summernationals slate. ... The Don Bohlander 65 is a benefit for Parkinson's Research, the disease the struck Bohlander. ... Peoria's next Super Late Model special is a May 27 Monster Midwest Tour event...� The June 30 Summernationals event at Peoria pays $6,000 to the winner.

Don Bohlander Memorial: (1) Wes Steidinger, (2) Dennis Erb Jr., (3) Steve Lance Jr., (4) Donny Walden, (5) Brian Harris, (6) Shane Allen, (7) Jayme Zidar, (8) Kenny Adams, (9) Matt McAdams, (10) Russ Adams, (11) Jason Plumer, (12) Mike Cothron, (13) Charley Hess, (14) Roger Rebholz, (15) Rich Bell, (16) Jeff Maher, (17) Brad Willis Jr., (18) Bill Kettering Jr., (19) Gerry Reeder, (20) Todd Bennett.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728