Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Shepp's Speedway

Weaver captures debut of NALMS at Shepp's

May 4, 2009, 9:37 am
From series reports
Kevin Weaver (B12) overtakes Jeep Van Wormer (55). (stlracingphotos.com)
Kevin Weaver (B12) overtakes Jeep Van Wormer (55). (stlracingphotos.com)

ALEXANDER, Ill. (May 3) — Ushering in a new dirt track, Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., took the lead in the second half of Sunday's 30-lapper and grabbed a $2,000 Northern Allstars Late Model Series victory at Shepp's Speedway. Weaver notched his seventh career series victory. | Slideshow

Front-row starters Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., and Steve Sheppard Jr., of New Berlin, Ill., one of the track's owners, battled back and forth through the first half of the race while the fifth-starting Weaver worked his way into contention. Weaver took over and led through the race's late stages to take the checkered flag at the quarter-mile oval.

Van Wormer settled for second followed by Sheppard, reigning series champion Dennis Erb Jr., of Carpentersville, Ill., and Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who won the previous night's Northern Allstars feature in Fairbury, Ill.

Notes: Weaver's Bill West Enterprises car is sponsored by Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwiches and C&J Excavating. ... Weaver's previous Northern Allstars victory came last year at Macon (Ill.) Speedway on Aug. 26. ... He's tied for ninth in all-time Northern Allstars victories. ... Shepp's Speedway hosted its first Super Late Model event and second event overall; Tait Davenport of Paducah, Ky., won the April 26 UMP-sanctioned Crate Late Model feature. ... The event drew 23 cars, but Wes Steidinger and Russ Adams weren't able to start the feature event. ... Next up for the Northern Allstars is a $2,000-to-win event on May 25 at Macon. ... The month of May wraps up with a $2,000-to-win event at La Salle (Ill.) Speedway on May 28, then a pair of $5,000-to-win events on May 29-30 at Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway and I-55 Raceway in Pevely, Mo.

Shepp's Speedway: (1) Kevin Weaver, (2) Jeep Van Wormer, (3) Steve Sheppard Jr., (4) Dennis Erb Jr., (5) Jason Feger, (6) Ryan Unzicker, (7) Richie Hedrick, (8) Frank Heckenast Jr., (9) Brandon Sheppard, (10) Jayme Zidar, (11) Jason McBride, (12) Scott Schmitt, (13) Mike Hammerle, (14) Roger Brickler, (15) Jimmy Dehm, (16) Adam Mefford, (17) Steve Lance Jr., (18) Brian Diveley, (19) Roben Huffman, (20) Jason Riggs, (21) Gary Logue. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Van Wormer. Heat race winners: Van Wormer, S. Sheppard, Unzicker.

Correction: Fixes spelling of Huffman's first name.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728