Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Monett Motor Speedway

Phillips holds off Frye for Monett victory

April 27, 2009, 8:14 am
By Brian Garrison
O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series
Terry Phillips (75) takes the lead from Eric Turner (99). (Ron Mitchell)
Terry Phillips (75) takes the lead from Eric Turner (99). (Ron Mitchell)

MONETT, Mo. (April 26) — Four-time series champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., overtook leader Eric Turner of Hermitage, Mo., on a lap-six restart and led the rest of the way for an O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series victory at Monett Speedway. | Slideshow

The fourth-starting Phillips fought off late challenges from five-time series champ Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark., on Sunday for his first MARS victory of the season. Phillips, who earned $2,500, owns a series-leading 67 career victories, including eight at Monett.

The winner's teammate Jeremy Payne of Springfield finished third in the 35-lapper with front-row starter Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., and Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., rounding out the top five. The polesitting Turner's race ended on lap 25 when a dead battery knocked him out of the race.

Notes: Phillips drives a GRT Race Car with a Hatfield Racing Engine and sponsorship from Andy's Frozen Custard. ... Phillips had a two-victory weekend as he also picked up an O'Reilly MLRA victory on Saturday at Adrian (Mo.) Speedway. ... Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., had a flat tire to bring out a lap-six caution; Vaught finished 19th. ... Hall of Famer Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo., earned hard charger honors with his 16th-to-eighth run. ... The series takes a month-long break before Monett hosts the series again on May 24.

MARS @ Monett: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) Bill Frye, (3) Jeremy Payne, (4) Brad Looney, (5) Al Purkey, (6) Tony Jackson Jr., (7) Wendell Wallace, (8) Ken Essary, (9) Justin Wells, (10) Darrell Mooneyham, (11) Rylan Long, (12) Chris Morelock, (13) Larry Jones, (14) Randy Galloway, (15) Eric Turner, (16) Scott Fry, (17) Brandon McCormick, (18) Bill Koons, (19) Will Vaught, (20) Leroy Johnson, (21) Matt Johnson. Heat race winners: Phillips, Looney, Turner. Consolation winner: M. Johnson. Provisional starter: L. Johnson.

Correction: Fixes number of MARS victories for Phillips at Monett.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728