Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Springfield Raceway

Ninth-starting Wells wins at Springfield

April 26, 2009, 12:06 pm
From track and series reports

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (April 25) — Former series champion Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., rallied from his ninth starting spot for a Race Brothers Show-Me Racin' Series victory Saturday at Springfield Raceway. Wells, the 2004 series champion now piloting the Patterson Motorsports No. 98, earned $1,000 for the victory after taking the lead from polesitter Jordan Holloway of Monett, Mo., on the 23rd lap.

Leslie Essary of Crane, Mo., finished second followed by Shane Essary of Aurora. Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark., was fourth and Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., rounded out the top five. Holloway fell out of contention when he looped his car on the 29th lap while trying to regain the lead; he ended up 20th. The race was slowed by a single caution on the third lap when Ken Essary got too low in turn two. Fourteen of 22 starters finished on the lead lap.

Show-Me @ Springfield: (1) Justin Wells, (2) Leslie Essary, (3) Shane Essary, (4) Larry Campbell, (5) Justin Asplin, (6) Rex Merritt, (7) Phil Edmondson, (8) Ken Essary, (9) Bill McMurtrie, (10) Rick Lebow, (11) Kevin Henson, (12) Jim Fulp, (13) Jarrod Hilton, (14) Randy Galloway, (15) Chris Morelock, (16) Adam Brown, (17) Chris Lapp, (18) Chris Deaton, (19) Ron Johnson, (20) Jordan Holloway, (21) Kathy Tonoli, (22) Roger Wilson. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Campbell, Wells, Lebow, K. Essary. Consolation winners: Lapp, Fulp.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728