Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Daugherty Speedway

Erb grabs co-sanctioned victory at Kamp

April 12, 2009, 6:03 pm
From track and correspondent reports
Dennis Erb Jr. (28) while Jason Feger (25) had battery issues. (Jim DenHamer)
Dennis Erb Jr. (28) while Jason Feger (25) had battery issues. (Jim DenHamer)

BOSWELL, Ind. (April 11) — Starting outside the front row, Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., fought off challenges from fast qualifier Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., and Ted Loomis of Kingston, Ill., for a $2,000 touring victory at Kamp Motor Speedway. Erb's victory was co-sanctioned by a pair of UMP DIRTCar-sanctioned satellite tours, the Northern Allstars Late Model Series and Sunoco American Late Model Series. | Slideshow

Feger pressured Erb but fell out in the second half of the race with battery problems. Loomis tried to pry the lead from Erb, but crossed the line second. He lost that position when his No. 23 was about 20 pounds light of the 2,300-pound requirement at the scales.

The disqualification moved Daren Friedman of Forrest, Ill., up to second with Guy Volk of Portage, Ind., finishing third. Frank Heckenast Jr. of Orland Park, Ill., and Tyler Boggs of Warsaw, Ind., rounded out the top five in the co-sanctioned event. Rusty Seaver of Stanton, Mich., was sixth as the top finishing ALMS regular.

Notes: Erb's Rayburn Race Car has a Rhyne Competition Engine and sponsorship from Thomason Express, PRC, AFCO and Petroff Towing. ... Erb notched his 24th career Northern Allstars victory, just four behind all-time series leader Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind.; it was Erb's first ALMS victory. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Shawn Negangard, Eric Spangler, Brandon Thirlby, Dan Walden, Eric Smith and Dick Potts. ... ALMS competitors resume action April 17-18 with events at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park and Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. ... Next up for the Northern Allstars is May 2-3 action at Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway and the new Shepp's Speedway in Alexander, Ill.

NALMS-ALMS @ Kamp: (1) Dennis Erb Jr., (2) Daren Friedman, (3) Guy Volk, (4) Frank Heckenast Jr., (5) Tyler Boggs, (6) Rusty Seaver, (7) Dusty Moore, (8) Kerry Mathew, (9) Jimmy Dehm, (10) Derek Chandler, (11) Jason Feger, (12) Richie Hedrick, (13) Ryan Unzicker, (14) Jayme Zidar, (15) Kevin Weaver, (16) Ky Harper, (17) Alan Vochaska, (18) Scott Schmitt, (19) Rusty Schlenk, (20) Jon Henry, (21) Dan Walden, (22) Brian Ruhlman. Disqualified: Ted Loomis. Fast qualifier (among 56 cars): Feger. Heat race winners: Feger, Henry, Hedrick, Erb, Friedman. Consolation race winners: Seaver, Dehm, Heckenast.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728