Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-State Speedway

Shane Essary wins series opener at Tri-State

April 12, 2009, 5:44 pm
By Clarissa Essary
Race Brothers Show-Me Racin' Series

POCOLA, Okla. (April 11) — Taking advantage when leader Justin Wells got tangled in traffic with 10 laps remaining, Shane Essary of Aurora, Mo., won at Tri-State Speedway to capture the season opener on the Race Brothers Farm and Home Supply Show-Me Racin' Series. Essary earned $1,000 for the 30-lap victory on the southwestern Missouri-based tour for Limited Late Models.

Wells, also of Aurora, had a chance to regain the lead from Essary following cautions on laps 21 and 25, but Essary held on for the victory. Rick Lebow of Galena, Mo., finished third followed by Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo., and series rookie Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark.

Notes: Essary notched his second career series victory; his first came last May 30 at Midway Speedway in Lebanon, Mo. ... Roger Wilson drew the lap-21 caution. ... Tim Adams brought out the lap-25 yellow. ... Chris Lapp transferred to the main event through the consolation race but scratched because of electrical problems; Wilson took his spot in the lineup. ... Some series drivers headed to nearby Fort Smith, Ark., early to pass out fliers and sign autographs to promote the event. ... Next up for series competitors is an April 18 event at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway.

Show-Me Series @ Tri-State: (1) Shane Essary, (2) Justin Wells, (3) Rick Lebow, (4) Ken Essary, (5) Larry Campbell, (6) Jim Fulp, (7) Bill McMurtrie, (8) Kevin Henson, (9) Randy Galloway, (10) Rex Merritt, (11) Kathy Tonoli, (12) Leslie Essary, (13) Chris Deaton, (14) Phil Edmondson, (15) Chris Morelock, (16) Tim Adams, (17) Mark Penticuff, (18) Chris Powell, (19) Jordan Holloway, (20) Jarrod Hilton, (21) Roger Wilson, (22) Wesley Briggs. Scratched: Chris Lapp. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Lebow, Deaton, S. Essary, Fulp. Consolation winner: Edmondson. Provisional starters: Powell, Briggs.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728