Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Macon Speedway

Weaver wins his 4th Herald & Review 100

August 18, 2008, 11:56 am
From series and track reports

MACON, Ill. (Aug. 16) — A high-running Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., overtook UMP DIRTcar Summernationals champion Dennis Erb Jr. after a lap-83 restart at Macon Speedway and went on to win his unprecedented fourth career Herald & Review 100. Weaver's victory in the rain-postponed Summernationals event was worth $7,000 as he added the 2008 crown to victories in 1991-92 and 2002.

Erb, of Carpentersville, Ill., had taken the lead on the 30th lap but settled for second at the fifth-mile oval. Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., was third while Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill., who led the first 29 laps, was fourth. Fifteen-year-old Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., rallied after his consolation race victory to round out the top five for his best-ever Summernationals finish.

Notes: Weaver's Bill West Enterprises car is sponsored by Jimmy John's. ... Weaver's 16th career Summernationals victory puts him sixth on the all-time list. ... The race was co-sanctioned by the Northern Allstars Late Model Series. ... Sixth-finishing Kyle Logue of Oreana, Ill., was among drivers who would've pocketed $10,000 with a victory. The track offered a $3,000 bonus to a winning driver who had competed at Macon in 10 previous races in 2008. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Rodney Melvin, Jarryd Holshouser, Terry Babb and Brian Diveley.

UMP @ Macon: (1) Kevin Weaver, (2) Dennis Erb Jr., (3) Jason Feger, (4) Wes Steidinger, (5) Brandon Sheppard, (6) Kyle Logue, (7) Mike Hammerle, (8) Jayme Zidar, (9) Rodney Standifer, (10) Steve Sheppard Jr., (11) Jim Gibson, (12) Scott Schmitt, (13) Kerby Damery, (14) Don Cisco III, (15) Dick Taylor, (16) Jeff Beyers, (17) Brent Kreke, (18) Cory Daugherty, (19) Ryan Unzicker, (20) Chris Dick, (21) Ed Bauman. Fast qualifier (among 37 cars): Taylor. Heat race winners: Standifer, Feger, Zidar, Steidinger. Consolation winners: Cisco, B. Sheppard.

Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information