Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 16:33:28

Sponsor 743
June 22
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series (Rock Gault Memorial) - $20,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 23, 4:50 pm)
Mitchell muscles by Brown for Gault Memorial
Rock Gault Memorial
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Ross Bailes
  3. Ashton Winger
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Trent Ivey
  6. Ben Watkins
  7. Josh Putnam
  8. Michael Brown
  9. Casey Roberts
  10. Sam Seawright
  11. Joseph Joiner
  12. Brandon Overton
  13. Ethan Dotson
  14. Wil Herrington
  15. Dennis Franklin
  16. Jordan Koehler
  17. Brent Robinson
  18. Michael Leach
  19. Trey Mills
  20. Ethan Wilson
  21. Benji Hicks
  22. Jackson Hise
  23. Cla Knight
  24. Chris Ferguson
  25. Gray Parton
  26. Josh Henry
  27. Steve Banal
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Zack Mitchell enjoys his $20,000 check in Cherokee's victory lane.
What won the race: Muscling his way by race-long leader Michael Brown with a physical turn-three slider, fourth-starting Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., paced the final 24 laps to win Saturday's $20,000 Rock Gault Memorial at Cherokee Speedway, securing his first victory on the Hunt the Front Super Dirt Series.
Quotable: “I just hope I cleared Michael (Brown) pretty good there when I slid him, but man, this thing was on a rail," Mitchell said. "I knew when we fired off, I was like, 'Man, we got something for them.’ I felt like I had to drive my ass off for that one, but I guess it was all worth it.”
Key notes: Brown, of Lancaster, S.C., led the opening 26 laps from the pole before losing the lead to Mitchell and eventually slowing with a flat tire to cause the race's fourth stoppage on lap 39. Brown recovered to finish eighth after changing the flat. ... Fifth-starting Ross Bailes grabbed the runner-up spot on a lap-45 restart and pursued Mitchell the final six laps, taking the checkers 1.449 seconds back. ... Ashton Winger ran as high as second until giving way to Bailes on the late-race restart and settling for third. ... Trent Ivey battled Ben Watkins in the closing laps and prevailed to round out the top five. ... Brandon Overton pitted twice during early-race cautions as he appeared to fight front suspension issues. Overton soldiered to a 12th-place effort. ... Chris Ferguson slowed from third to bring out the race's third caution on lap 15. Fergy was unable to continue and required a push to the pits. ... The event honored former Cherokee Speedway owner and promoter, Edgar “Rock” Gault Jr. who died in 2016. ... The race was slowed by five cautions and lasted 34 minutes, with 18 competitors completing 50 laps.
On the move: Reigning series champ Josh Putnam of Florence, Ala., started 24th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis by Wells is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood, Inc., SoCar Chemical, Charles West Grading, Rolling Pines Lawn & Landscaping, Earnhardt Technologies Group, Hoosier Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Fox Racing Shox and Big A’s Custom Graphics.
Points chase: After Cherokee: 1. Brandon Overton (732); 2. Sam Seawright (668); 3. Ashton Winger (650); 4. Joseph Joiner (640); 5. Josh Putnam (636); 6. Zack Mitchell (634); 7. Trey Mills (632); 8. Chris Ferguson (598); 9. Wil Herrington (580); 10. Jackson Hise (546).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Brandon Overton
Time: 14.880 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Brown
Heat race winners: Michael Brown, Chris Ferguson, Brandon Overton, Zack Mitchell
Consolation race winners: Sam Seawright, Casey Roberts
Provisional starters: Trey Mills, Josh Putnam, Jackson Hise, Cla Knight, Josh Henry
Next series race: July 6, Senoia Raceway (Senoia, GA) $20,000
Editor's note: Corrects note about fifth-place finisher Trent Ivey (incorrectly listed as Trey Mills originally)

Feature lineup

Row 1: Brown, Ch. Ferguson
Row 2: B. Overton, Mitchell
Row 3: Bailes, Winger
Row 4: Dotson, Parton
Row 5: Herrington, Joiner
Row 6: J. Koehler, McIntosh
Row 7: Robinson, Watkins
Row 8: Banal, Hicks
Row 9: Seawright, Roberts
Row 10: Ivey, Franklin
Row 11: Leach, E. Wilson
Row 12: Mills, Putnam
Row 13: Hise, Knight
Row 14: Henry

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information