Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 15:01:37

Sponsor 743
June 22
Brownstown Speedway,
Brownstown, IN
Sanction: World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series (Hoosier Dirt Classic) - $15,000
Information provided by: Bryan Ault, series and track reports (last updated June 23, 2:09 pm)
Hoffman tops Brownstown's Hoosier Dirt Classic
Hoosier Dirt Classic
  1. Nick Hoffman
  2. Dustin Sorensen
  3. Bobby Pierce
  4. Max McLaughlin
  5. Brandon Sheppard
  6. Ryan Gustin
  7. Brian Shirley
  8. Dale McDowell
  9. Devin Gilpin
  10. Chad Stapleton
  11. Brent Larson
  12. Dennis Erb Jr.
  13. Cade Dillard
  14. Kent Robinson
  15. Tristan Chamberlain
  16. Jason Jameson
  17. Kyle Bronson
  18. Tyler Bruening
  19. Morgan Bagley
  20. Ryan Lanphierd
  21. Cody Overton
  22. Shelby Miles
  23. Jordan Wever
  24. Dustin Walker
  25. Jared Bailey
presented by
Ryan Roberts
Nick Hoffman celebrates his victory in the Hoosier Dirt Classic.
What won the race: Powering around race-long leader Dustin Sorensen, second-starting Nick Hoffman of Mooresville, N.C., led the final 19 laps to win Saturday's 41st annual Hoosier Dirt Classic at Brownstown Speedway. Hoffman's $15,000 World of Outlaws Case Late Model victory marked his series-best fourth triumph of the season as he rebounded from the previous night's mistake at Kentucky's Ponderosa Speedway that sent him into the wall while leading.
Quotable: “I’ve won in (the high) line so many times in my modified, so I knew eventually that bottom would get burned up, as long as them guys didn’t just keep pushing them infield tires in,” Hoffman said. “I was kinda frustrated there, just caution after caution, it felt like nothing would go my way that race and finally it did. I was able to clear (Sorensen) there right at the line before the (lap-33) caution.”
Key notes: Hoffman has five career WoO victories. ... Sorensen, of Rochester, Minn., led the opening 31 laps before giving way to Hoffman and settling for second, 2.219 seconds back. It's his best career series finish. ... Bobby Pierce battled Max McLaughlin in the closing laps, prevailing to finish third. ... McLaughlin took fourth, also registering his best career tour result. ... Seeking his third straight series win Brandon Sheppard improved four positions and completed the top five. ... Ryan Gustin overcame spinning from third on a lap-four restart and placed sixth. ... Dale McDowell gained 10 spots and finished eighth. ... Cade Dillard could only recover to 13th after spinning with Gustin to draw the race's third caution. ... Daniel Hilsabeck was airlifted to St. Vincent Hospital in Indianapolis, with an apparent broken left wrist after crashing out of the first heat race. Hilsabeck spun in front of the field and was brushed by Jordan Wever before Brent Larson made heavy contact with the left-front and drivers' door area. Hilsabeck needed a few minutes to exit his vehicle and was immediately offered medical assistance. ... Larson rebounded after utilizing a provisional starting position and placed 11th in the 50-lap feature. ... The feature was slowed by nine cautions and lasted 38 minutes, with 19 drivers completing the distance and 22 running at the checkers.
On the move: Max McLaughlin of Mooresville, N.C., started 14th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Hoffman’s Tye Twarog Racing Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from NOS Energy Drink, C&W Trucking, Petroff Towing, Tye Twarog Performance Parts, Lonewolf Petroleum, Haulin’ Haskells, Tri Valley Equipment Sales, Allgaier Performance Parts, Bilstein Shocks, Eibach Springs, Lincoln Smith Racing and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: After Brownstown: 1. Brandon Sheppard (2,362); 2. Nick Hoffman (2,350); 3. Cade Dillard (2,276); 4. Bobby Pierce (2,238); 5. Kyle Bronson (2,234); 6. Tyler Bruening (2,190); 7. Dennis Erb Jr. (2,188); 8. Ryan Gustin (2,160); 9. Dustin Sorensen (2,122); 10. Brian Shirley (2,092).
Current weather: Clear, 82°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Jason Jameson
Time: 13.196 seconds
Polesitter: Dustin Sorensen
Heat race winners: Cade Dillard, Bobby Pierce, Nick Hoffman
Consolation race winners: Morgan Bagley
Provisional starters: Brent Larson, Dustin Walker, Jared Bailey
Next series race: June 24, Independence Motor Speedway (Independence, IA) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Sorensen, Hoffman
Row 2: Gustin, Dillard
Row 3: Jameson, Pierce
Row 4: Bronson, Shirley
Row 5: Sheppard, D. Erb
Row 6: Gilpin, Stapleton
Row 7: Bruening, McLaughlin
Row 8: C. Overton, Wever
Row 9: Chamberlain, McDowell
Row 10: Bagley, Miles
Row 11: Robinson, Lanphierd
Row 12: Larson, Walker
Row 13: Bailey

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information