Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 04:47:40

Sponsor 743
May 26
Duck River Raceway Park,
Wheel, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $10,053
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 11:30 am)
Putnam wins finale as crown fits McIntosh
  1. Josh Putnam
  2. Dalton Cook
  3. Donald McIntosh
  4. Camaron Marlar
  5. Josh Henry
  6. Pearson Lee Williams
  7. Dillon Tidmore
  8. Dillard Hatchett
  9. Chris Jones
  10. Jack Riggs
  11. Matthew Brocato
  12. Chase Walls
  13. David Breazeale
  14. Sam Seawright
  15. Oakley Johns
  16. Jay Scott
  17. Christian Hanger
  18. Jadon Frame
  19. Brad Skinner
  20. Clay Harris
  21. Scott Cook
  22. Brayden Skinner
presented by
Zackary Washington/Simple Moments Photography
Josh Putnam celebrates his victory at Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, Tenn.
What won the race: Taking control from mid-race leader Dillon Tidmore on a lap-22 restart, 14th-starting Josh Putnam of Florence, Ala., led the rest of Sunday's 53-lap Schaeffer's Spring Nationals points finale at Duck River Raceway Park. Putnam's $10,053 payday marked his second career Spring Nationals victory and his first since May 29, 2022, both coming at Duck River.
Quotable: “I knew when we fired up that we had a good race car and I just didn’t know about our tire choice there,” Putnam said. “I seen Sam (Seawright) having problems cause I thought he would be that one to outrun there, cause he’s been stellar at this place. He kept having problems and I was like ‘Man, what’s going on?’ I’d like to pass those guys, too, cause I think we had the car to do it and I hate they fell out on their misfortune, but some of the luck we’ve had this year, we’ll take this one anyway we can get it.”
Key notes: The pole-starting Tidmore, of Gadsden, Ala., led laps 13-21 before being overtaken by Putnam and slipping to finish seventh. ... Twelfth-starting Dalton Cook pressured Putnam in the late going, crossing the checkers 0.640 of a second back. ... Donald McIntosh improved 13 positions and placed third, clinching his third career Spring Nationals title (2015, '16) — breaking a tie with two-time series champs Dale McDowell and Carson Ferguson. ... Pearson Lee Williams, McIntosh's closest championship contender, overcame two flat tires and finished sixth aboard Christian Hanger's backup car after breaking his Wynn Motorsports team's engine during Friday's tour event at Sugar Creek Raceway in Blue Ridge, Ga. ... Sam Seawright slowed from third to draw Duck River's fourth caution on lap 21 before pulling off. ... Second-starting Jadon Frame, who drove a Scott Riggs Racing entry, led the opening 12 laps before slowing while under yellow for Brad Skinner's heavy contact with the turn-two wall. ... Lucas Oil Series rookie contender Clay Harris slowed from second to cause the second stoppage on lap nine. ... Sunday's Spring Nationals points finale was slowed by eight incidents and lasted 41 minutes, with 11 drivers running at the finish. ... Ray Cook's rain-plagued tour added two non-points events in Kentucky on May 31-June 1 at Junction City's Ponderosa Speedway and Burnside's Lake Cumberland Speedway.
On the move: Pearson Lee Williams of Dublin, Ga., started 22nd and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Putnam’s Rocket Chassis carries sponsorship from Morris Brothers Construction, Thornton Iron & Metal, Horne Towing & Salvage, Sin City Bail Bonds, Brown Equipment Company, CFR Performance Parts & Fabrication, Silver Creek Sales, TD Wash, North Alabama Ink, Quarters Bus and RV, J&J Land Services, Fox Racing Shox by Coondog, Base Racing Fuel & Oil and 441 Race Wraps.
Points chase: Final: 1. Donald McIntosh (1,508); 2. Pearson Lee Williams (1,490); 3. Christian Hanger (1,246); 4. Ethan Dotson (896); 5. Brenden Smith (595).
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Dillon Tidmore
Time: 13.589 seconds
Polesitter: Dillon Tidmore
Consolation race winners: Jay Scott, Donald McIntosh
Provisional starters: David Breazeale, Pearson Lee Williams
Next series race: May 31, Ponderosa Speedway (Junction City, KY) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Frame, Tidmore
Row 2: Harris, Riggs
Row 3: Seawright, S. Cook
Row 4: Hatchett, Walls
Row 5: Hanger, C. Marlar
Row 6: Brad Skinner, D. Cook
Row 7: Brocato, Putnam
Row 8: Scott, McIntosh
Row 9: Jones, Henry
Row 10: Bray. Skinner, O. Johns
Row 11: Breazeale, Williams

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information