Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/24/2024 12:42:04

Sponsor 743
May 24
Attica Raceway Park,
Attica, OH
Sanction: Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 11:38 am)
Schlenk captures Attica's Iron-Man opener
  1. Rusty Schlenk
  2. Kyle Moore
  3. Seth Daniels
  4. Ryan Missler
  5. Rod Conley
  6. Devin Shiels
  7. Justin Chance
  8. Casey Noonan
  9. Gregg Haskell
  10. R.J. Conley
  11. Shane Bailey
  12. Rob Anderzack
  13. Dusty Moore
  14. Justin White
  15. Ryan Markham
  16. Jeff Warnick
  17. Austin Lay
  18. Mike Bores
  19. Nathon Loney
  20. J.R. Gentry
  21. Jeff Babcock
  22. Cole Perine
presented by
Rusty Schlenk in victory lane at Attica Raceway Park.
What won the race: Third-starting Rusty Schlenk of McClure Ohio, slid past polesitter Kyle Moore on the fourth lap and punished the field for the rest of Friday's Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series 40-lapper at Attica Raceway Park for a $5,000 victory. Moore finished a distant 6.116 seconds back in the caution-free main event as Schlenk lapped all but five competitors in the 22-car field.
Quotable: "Man, I was nervous all week long. I had a half-track lead on everybody last week at Oakshade and a lapped car spun out in front of me and I hit him wide open, bent the front clip a little bit," Schlenk said. "I've been nervous ever since. I didn't know if this thing could go around the racetrack again, but I think it goes around it even better."
Key notes: The non-stop victory took 11 minutes, 22 seconds. ... Schlenk notched his 41st career Attica victory and third overall this season. ... Schlenk nearly slipped over the backstretch banking multiple times but held on. ... He also made a few daring moves in negotiating lapped traffic. ... Kyle Moore and Seth Daniels swapped the second spot multiple times with Moore securing the spot on the final lap. ... A 40-minute delay for a medical issue in the grandstands delayed the start of the Late Model feature, which finally rolled at about 10:45 p.m. ... The series ran its first event under a new co-branded name following a merger with the Midwest-based Sunoco American Late Model Series (Schlenk was a frequent ALMS winner but the victory was his first on the Iron-Man circuit). ... Jerry Bowersock scratched from the feature.
On the move: Devin Shields of Britton, Mich., started 17th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Schlenk’s Domination Race Car is powered by a Mullins Engine and sponsored by Buckeye Concrete Coatings, Terry Henricks Chrysler Dodge Jeep RAM, TriState Pole Barns, Tom Finch Automotive, VP Racing Fuels, VP Lubricants, Dominator Race Products, Landrum Performance Springs, KBC Graphix, Integra Shocks, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Willy's Carb & Dyno, Vahlco Racing Wheels, Velocita-USA, MAGA Lifts, XS Power, Allstar Performance, Zamp Racing, Micro-Armor, Chris Mapes C-N-T Services and Race-Fan.com.
Points chase: It's the season opener.
Current weather: Few Clouds, 72°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Kyle Moore
Time: 14.417 seconds
Polesitter: Kyle Moore
Heat race winners: Kyle Moore, Ryan Missler, Rusty Schlenk
Consolation race winners: Gregg Haskell
Provisional starters: Jerry Bowersock
Next series race: June 1, Atomic Speedway (Alma, OH) $5,000
Editor's note: Updates winner's sponsors.

Feature lineup

Row 1: K. Moore, Missler
Row 2: Schlenk, Rod Conley
Row 3: Daniels, Loney
Row 4: R.J. Conley, Noonan
Row 5: Gentry, White
Row 6: Perine, Markham
Row 7: Chance, Bores
Row 8: Anderzack, Haskell
Row 9: Shiels, Babcock
Row 10: D. Moore, A. Lay
Row 11: Bailey, Warnick
Row 12: Bowersock

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information