Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/24/2024 11:32:30

Sponsor 743
May 24
Sugar Creek Raceway,
Blue Ridge, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $7,553
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 25, 10:07 pm)
Roland cruises to first Spring Nationals victory
  1. Will Roland
  2. David Payne
  3. Dale Timms
  4. Donald McIntosh
  5. Kenny Collins
  6. Shawn Chastain
  7. Bill Mahan
  8. Dante Curtis
  9. Danny Ledford
  10. Colton Berrong
  11. Pearson Lee Williams
  12. Bo Eaton
  13. Jason Deal
presented by
Dean Curlee/Deango Motorsports Photography
Will Roland gets rolling before his victory at Sugar Creek.
What won the race: Second-starting Will Roland of Jasper, Ga., cruised to a commanding flag-to-flag victory in Friday's 40-lap Schaeffer's Spring Nationals stop at Sugar Creek Raceway. Roland collected his first career Spring Nationals triumph and a $7,553 payday, his first win since a $4,000 Crate Racin' USA victory in January's Ice Bowl at Eastaboga, Ala.'s Talladega Short Track.
Quotable: “Man it feels so good. I just live 45 minutes down the road,” Roland said. “In front of all these fans, I’m glad we got to race, you know it’s been a while. We’ve struggled a little bit here recently in this car, but I hope got it turned around, it’s a big confidence booster for me. We got that Ice Bowl win, we had some good runs after that, but we just couldn’t get another one and I was like ‘When’s it gonna come?’ but I’m glad it was a Super (Late Model), I’ve been wanting a Super win for a long time and I’m glad we finally got it done.”
Key notes: Pole-starting David Payne kept pace with Roland following the lap-12 restart, before fading to cross the checkers 2.026 seconds back. ... Donald McIntosh reclaimed the fourth spot from Kenny Collins on lap three, relegating Collins to finish fifth. ... The race's second stoppage necessitated a 15-minute red flag for cleanup after Shawn Chastain spun from sixth, collecting Bill Mahan, with Mahan's car coming to rest on the front of Chastain's. Both drivers continued, with Chastain placing sixth, the final driver to complete 40 laps. ... Danny Ledford slowed on the opening circuit to draw the first yellow. ... Entering as series points leader Pearson Lee Williams pulled off on lap 18 after fighting engine issues after starting George Mashburn's car because his own machine had engine problems. ... Friday's weekend opener lasted 21 minutes, with eight competitors running at the finish. ... Billy Denby and George Mashburn scratched from the feature.
On the move: Bill Mahan of Lacey's Spring, Ala., started 10th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Roland’s BMF Race Car carries sponsorship from Roland Tire, Mountain Ridge Realty, RRR Investments, Pee Wee’s Wrecker Service, Penske Racing Shocks, Base Racing Fuel, Hoosier Tire and Slicker Graphics.
Points chase: After Sugar Creek: 1. Donald McIntosh (1,314); 2. Pearson Lee Williams (1,302); 3. Christian Hanger (1,080); 4. Ethan Dotson (896); 5. Brenden Smith (595).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 72°F
Car count: 15
Fast qualifier: David Payne
Time: 14.069 seconds
Polesitter: David Payne
Next series race: May 26, Duck River Raceway Park (Wheel, TN) $10,053
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Payne, Roland
Row 2: Timms, McIntosh
Row 3: Collins, Chastain
Row 4: Curtis, Ledford
Row 5: Berrong, Mahan
Row 6: Deal, Denby
Row 7: Eaton, Williams
Row 8: Mashburn

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information