Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1278
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 05:48:54

Sponsor 743
May 5
Adams County Speedway,
Quincy, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 6, 7:54 am)
Terbo tops MLRA field for $5,000 at Adams County
  1. Tyler Erb
  2. Earl Pearson Jr.
  3. Gordy Gundaker
  4. Garrett Alberson
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Derrick Stewart
  7. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  8. Chris Simpson
  9. Daniel Hilsabeck
  10. Trevor Gundaker
  11. Tristan Chamberlain
  12. Clay Stuckey
  13. Tony Jackson Jr.
  14. Matt Bailey
  15. Dillon McCowan
  16. Jeff Herzog
  17. Justin Duty
  18. Aaron Marrant
  19. Brennon Willard
  20. Dalton Imhoff
  21. Steve Stultz
  22. Justin Reed
  23. Rickey Frankel
  24. Kye Blight
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Tyler Erb takes the checkers to earn his first career MLRA victory at Adams County Speedway.
What won the race: Fending off a mid-race challenge from Earl Pearson, Jr., pole-starting Tyler Erb of New Waverly, Texas, captured Sunday's $5,000 Cinco De Mayo 40 at Adams County Speedway. Erb led all the way for his first career Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory and his second overall triumph of the season — his first since a Feb. 7 Winternationals prelim at Gibsonton, Fla.'s East Bay Raceway Park, worth $7,000.
Quotable: “It was a fun race .. this track is really cool," Erb said. "I like coming here, especially when it starts out wet how it was. Hot laps was sloppy and normally that tends to make a good race. It was kinda bottom-dominant, but the cushion down (in turns three and four) if you ran it just right, you could make speed ... it was just sketchy as all get out. This is exciting, any kind of win is something that you should be proud of and I feel like we’ve got our car headed in the right direction. We’ll probably be back for the Summer Nationals race.”
Key notes: Erb came to Quincy on the way home from the weekend's World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series event at Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis.; initially the team was headed for Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa, before realizing the mistake and rerouting for the Illinois track. ... The second-starting Pearson, of Jacksonville, Fla., regained the runner-up spot on a lap-12 restart and pressured Erb as they battled through lapped traffic before finishing 1.742 seconds back. ... Sixth-starting Gordy Gundaker advanced from fifth to third between laps 19-24 and completed the podium. ... Garrett Alberson and Chad Simpson traded fourth spot several times in the closing laps, with Alberson prevailing and Simpson settling for fifth. ... High-running Derrick Stewart ran as high as second on laps 10-11 before giving way to Pearson and slipping to sixth. ... Chris Simpson improved 11 positions and placed eighth. ... Trevor Gundaker gained seven spots and rounded out the top 10. ... Tony Jackson Jr. rebounded to finish 13th after slowing with a flat left-rear to draw the race's first caution on lap three. ... Seventh-running Justin Duty hopped the turn-three cushion to bring out the third yellow on lap nine. ... Dillon McCowan spun from 13th to cause the fourth and final stoppage on lap 11. ... Sunday's feature lasted 24 minutes, with 14 drivers completing the distance and 20 running at the finish. ... Australia's Kye Blight scratched from the feature.
On the move: Fresh off a pair of weekend victories in Illinois, Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., started 16th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Erb’s winning Best Performance Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Bulk Material Lift, First Class Septic, Roberts Bee Company, Anthony’s Pizza, JRR Trucking, Base Racing Fuel, Base Oil, Sani-Weld, Inc., Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Racing Shocks, Go Lithium Batteries, Midwest Sheet Metal, Terbo Threads and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: After Adams County: 1. Chad Simpson (605); 2. Chris Simpson (565); T3. Gordy Gundaker (540); T3. Tony Jackson Jr. (540); 5. Trevor Gundaker (490); 6. Justin Duty (475); 7. Dillon McCowan (460); 8. Jeff Herzog (455); 9. Earl Pearson Jr. (445); 10. Aaron Marrant (390).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Tyler Erb
Time: 12.647 seconds
Polesitter: Tyler Erb
Heat race winners: Tyler Erb, Chad Simpson, Earl Pearson Jr., Derrick Stewart
Consolation race winners: Trevor Gundaker
Provisional starters: Steve Stultz, Dalton Imhoff
Next series race: May 17, Benton Speedway (Benton, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: T. Erb, Pearson
Row 2: Cha. Simpson, Stewart
Row 3: Blight, G. Gundaker
Row 4: Jackson, Heckenast
Row 5: Duty, Chamberlain
Row 6: Bailey, C. Stuckey
Row 7: McCowan, Hilsabeck
Row 8: Herzog, Alberson
Row 9: T. Gundaker, Reed
Row 10: Chr. Simpson, Frankel
Row 11: Willard, Marrant
Row 12: Stultz, Imhoff

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information