Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Humboldt Speedway

Rookie halts Essary's streak at Humboldt

July 23, 2011, 7:52 am
From series reports
Chad Wheeler (73) battles Leslie Essary (5) at Humboldt. (andrewtownephotography.com)
Chad Wheeler (73) battles Leslie Essary (5) at Humboldt. (andrewtownephotography.com)

HUMBOLDT, Kan. (July 22) — Making just his second series start, modified ace Chad Wheeler of Muskogee, Okla., broke Leslie Essary's four-race winning streak on the Race Brothers Show-Me Racin' Series at Humboldt Speedway. | Slideshow

The 27-year-old Wheeler, a third-generation driver, earned $1,000 for the victory at the 3/8-mile oval in eastern Kansas. He took the lead when Brandon Hunter's battery began cutting out with two laps remaining.

Essary, of Crane, Mo., finished second with series points leader Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., in third. Hunter and Rex Merritt rounded out the top five finishers

Notes: Wheeler's winning car is sponsored McMurtrie Oil, Greene Operating and Wheeler Metals. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Houston Garrison, Kyle Ledford, Kenney Shaw and Garrett Murrell. ... Next up for the series is an Aug. 20 event at Dallas County Speedway in Urbana, Mo.

Show-Me Series @ Humboldt: (1) Chad Wheeler, (2) Leslie Essary, (3) Justin Wells, (4) Brandon Hunter, (5) Rex Merritt, (6) Randy Zimmerman, (7) Ken Essary, (8) Rick Lebow, (9) Larry Campbell, (10) Brian Parker, (11) Chris Deaton, (12) Eric Tinderholt, (13) Chris Morelock, (14) Willie Gammill, (15) Chris Reese, (16) Dylan Davlin, (17) Jake Davis, (18) Jimmy Greenway, (19) Brandon Cheek, (20) David Young, (21) Ray Peacock. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Zimmerman, Wells, Hunter, Merritt. Consolation winner: Campbell.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728