Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Mid-America Speedway

Leslie Essary back in Show-Me Series victory lane

June 5, 2011, 11:35 am
By Trenton Barry
Leslie Essary gets rolling Saturday at Mid-America Speedway. (Andrew Towne)
Leslie Essary gets rolling Saturday at Mid-America Speedway. (Andrew Towne)

SOUTH COFFEYVILLE, Okla. (June 4) — Two-time series champion Leslie Essary of Crane, Mo., raced to victory Saturday at Mid-American Speedway, notching his 26th career series victory but first since the 2009 finale.

Essary, who took the lead on the 13th lap, had to be careful in the second half of the race because his No. 5 was having brake problems. | Slideshow

“The first part of the race went pretty good,” Essary aid. “With about 10 or 12 laps to go, a shock pin broke on the left front and broke the brakeline, so the last 10 or 12 laps was kind of a handful to get around there.”

Series points leader Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., rallied from his 10th starting spot to finish second as he and 12th-starting Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo., the winner's father, used the high side to make up ground late in the race. Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark., ran as high as second before setting for fourth and polesitter Rex Merritt of Billings, Mo., led 12 laps and rounded out the top five.

The 30-lapper was slowed by a single caution for Kyle Ledford's turn-two spin on the seventh lap.

Notes: Essary's GRT Race Car has a Mike's Motor & Machine powerplant and sponsorship from Baillie Diesel. ... Jimmy Greenway is competing as Essary's teammate. ... Next up for Show-Me Racin' Series competitors is a June 10-11 doubleheader in Oklahoma, starting at Thunderbird Speedway in Muskogee and moving to Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa for the first series visit to the track.

Show-Me Series @ Mid-America: 1. Leslie Essary, 2. Justin Wells, 3. Ken Essary, 4. Larry Campbell, 5. Rex Merritt, 6. Randy Zimmerman 7. Jimmy Greenway, 8. Rick Lebow, 9. Willie Gammill, 10. Eric Tinderholt, 11. Chris Morelock, 12. Chris Reese, 13. Brandon Hunter, 14. Ray Peacock, 15. Jarrod Hilton, 16. Kyle Ledford, 17. Scott Fry, 18. Dylan Davlin, 19. Chris Deaton, 20. Robert McMurtrie, 21. David Young, 22. Houston Garrison. Heat race winners (among 26 cars): L. Essary, Campbell, Lebow. Consolation winner: Tinderholt.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728