Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cresco Speedway

Chad Simpson 4-for-4 after victory at Cresco

June 4, 2010, 10:29 am
From series and correspondent reports
Chad Simpson (25) takes the lead from Jake Meier (20). (buckmonsonphoto.com)
Chad Simpson (25) takes the lead from Jake Meier (20). (buckmonsonphoto.com)

CRESCO, Iowa (June 3) — Overtaking polesitter Jake Meier following a restart with 13 laps remaining, sixth-starting Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led the last 10 circuits of the 35-lapper at Cresco Speedway for his fourth straight victory in four Dart Corn Belt Clash races this year. Simpson earned $2,000. | Slideshow

Jeff Aikey of Waterloo, Iowa, was second followed by Meier of Tipton, Iowa, who took the early lead after a series of yellow flags. The winner’s brother, Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, rallied from his 17th starting spot to finish fourth and Lance Matthees of Winona, Minn., rounded out the top five. Outside front-row starter Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, held the second spot on the 22nd lap but spun out of contention, drawing the a pivotal caution.

That set up a restart with Meier out front and a double-file row made up of Aikey-Chad Simpson. Simpson disposed of Aikey and when powered underneath Meier to take command on lap 25. He survived two late-race restarts for the victory.

Notes: Chad Simpson's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Volvo-GMC, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Five Star Shop Service. ... The race was a makeup of a May 13 rainout. ... The series heads to Farley (Iowa) Speedway on Friday for a makeup of a May 17 rainout.

Corn Belt Clash @ Cresco: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Jeff Aikey, (3) Jake Meier, (4) Chris Simpson, (5) Lance Matthees, (6) John Kaanta, (7) Denny Eckrich, (8) Tyler Bruening, (9) Kurt Kile, (10) Jake Hartung, (11) Joe Ludemann, (12) Dennis Hillson, (13) Kelly Meyer, (14) Shane Wehrs, (15) Jason Rauen, (16) Roger Torgerson, (17) Justin Kay, (18) Jill George, (19) Keith Foss, (20) Rob Moss, (21) Lucas Peterson, (22) Jon Rogers, (23) Jason Utter, (24) Kevin Kile, (25) Eric Pember, (26) Dave Eckrich.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728