Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Junction Motor Speedway

Boen completes King of the Hill sweep

August 9, 2009, 9:39 am
From series and correspondent reports
Kelly Boen (07) turned back charging Kyle Berck (14). (fasttrackphotos.net)
Kelly Boen (07) turned back charging Kyle Berck (14). (fasttrackphotos.net)

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (Aug. 8) — Rallying from the eighth row, Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., completed a sweep of Junction Motor Speedway's King of the Hill Late Model Nationals. Boen earned $3,000 for the event co-sanctioned by two O'Reilly Auto Parts-sponsored tours, the Midwest LateModel Racing Association and National Championship Racing Association.

Boen, who earned his seventh NCRA victories in the last eight series races, outdueled John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., late in the race, then stayed ahead of 24th-starting Kyle Berck's late charge for the victory.

Berck, of Marquette, Neb., finished second after taking a provisional starting spot while Anderson was third in the weekend finale. Jason Bodenhamer of Centerview, Mo., was fourth and Mike Johnson of Lompoc, Calif., completed a two-week trip to the Midwest with his best finish of the journey. Bryant Goldsmith of Corning, Iowa, rallied from 21st to finish sixth.

Notes: Boen's Rocket Chassis has a Jay Dickens engine and sponsorship from Road Runner Fabrication, AFCO and Race Wise Dirt Track Chassis School. ... The night's action was married by an on-track, out-of-car fight between Jason Friesen of Sutton, Neb., and Mike Collins of Council Bluffs, Iowa. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Craig Preble, Brett Wood, Corey Zeitner, Greg Larson, Ronnie Warman, Jeremy Kelley and Denny Woodworth, who finished fourth on opening night. ... Next up for MLRA competitors is an Aug. 15 event at 24 Raceway in Moberly, Mo., while NCRA drivers head to Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park the same night.

King of the Hill Late Model Nationals: (1) Kelly Boen, (2) Kyle Berck, (3) John Anderson, (4) Jason Bodenhamer, (5) Mike Johnson, (6) Bryant Goldsmith, (7) David Turner, (8) Alan Mondus, (9) Mike Wiarda, (10) Bo Egge, (11) Al Purkey, (12) Zack Forster, (13) Dean Moore, (14) Joe Kosiski, (15) Chris Smyser, (16) Matt Johnson, (17) Bill Koons, (18) Jeep Berry, (19) Delbert Smith, (20) Travis Dickes, (21) Dave Conkwright, (22) Jason O'Brien, (23) Steve Kempt, (24) Jerry Warner, (25) Jason Friesen, (26) Mike Collins. Heat race winners (among 42 cars): Berry, Egge, Bodenhamer, Anderson, Kempt. Consolation winners: Koons, Collins. Provisional starters: O'Brien, Berck, M. Johnson, Kosiski.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728