Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

81 Speedway

Turner outruns series champs for victory at 81

June 28, 2009, 1:56 pm
By David Smith Jr.
O'Reilly NCRA
Car owner Steve Rushin (left) joins Eric Turner in victory lane. (Ron Mitchell)
Car owner Steve Rushin (left) joins Eric Turner in victory lane. (Ron Mitchell)

WICHITA, Kan. (June 27) — Eric Turner of Springfield, Mo., notched his second career Late Model victory with a $2,500 win at 81 Speedway in an event co-sanctioned by the O'Reilly National Championship Racing Association and O'Reilly MARS DIRTcar Series. Turner, who started on the pole the previous night in Meeker, Okla., and faded to finish sixth, made the most of Saturday's pole position and led all 30 laps. | Slideshow

"It felt good up on the top and I wasn't about to move," said Turner in victory lane. "This was a momentum deal and I knew with the experience with the people behind me that I better not screw it up."

Four-time NCRA champion Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colo., was 10 lengths behind in second, two-time NCRA champ Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., was third and four-time MARS champion Terry Phillips of Springfield was fourth.

NCRA-MARS @ 81: (1) Eric Turner, (2) Kelly Boen, (3) Al Purkey, (4) Terry Phillips, (5) Jason O'Brien, (6) Corey Zeitner, (7) Kyle Berck, (8) Brandon McCormick, (9) Jason Bodenhamer, (10) Delbert Smith, (11) Ronnie Wallace, (12) Ryan McAninch, (13) Gary Scott Christian, (14) David Conkwright, (15) Tony Jackson Jr., (16) Darrell Mooneyham, (17) Jason Friesen, (18) Craig Preble, (19) Mike Collins, (20) Steve Kempt, (21) Rylan Long, (22) Jeremy Payne. Heat race winners (among 39 cars): O'Brien, Zeitner, Payne, Turner, Purkey. Consolation winners: Berck, Wallace. Provisional starters: Jackson, Long, Kempt, Harker.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728