Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video




Beebe Speedway

Cook captures Comp Cams victory at Beebe

June 23, 2012, 4:06 am
From series reports
Curtis Cook rolls toward victory at Beebe Speedway. (Woody Hampton)
Curtis Cook rolls toward victory at Beebe Speedway. (Woody Hampton)

BEEBE, Ark. (June 22) — Third-starting Curtis Cook of Vilonia, Ark., raced to his first 2012 victory on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series on Friday at Beebe Speedway. Cook earned $2,000 in outrunning Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., in the 35-lap feature.

Polesitter Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., was third at the quarter-mile oval followed by 11th-starting Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., and Kevin Sitton of Baytown, Texas. Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, who entered the race with a two-point lead over Robert Baker, finished 14th, one spot behind Baker in the final rundown.

The victory for Cook was his second career on the series and first since May 14, 2011, at Drew County Speedway in Monticello, Ark.

Notes: Cook’s GRT Race Car is sponsored by B&B Custom Cabinets and Lawson Farms. ... The race was the second of the RiceTec Summer Series. ... Dewaine Hottinger was leading the fourth heat when he slowed in the final laps; he finished 16th in the main event. ... Heat winner Tommy Surrett had mechanical woes in the main event that ended his night early. ... Drivers who didn’t start the feature: Brandon Hunter, Travis Mosley and Chad Williams. ... Comp Cams Series drivers complete the weekend with a Saturday event at 67 Speedway in Texarkana, Ark.

Comp Cams @ Beebe: (1) Curtis Cook, (2) Timothy Culp, (3) Jon Kirby, (4) Brandon Smith, (5) Kevin Sitton, (6) Gary Christian, (7) Allen Murray, (8) Chandler Petty, (9) Keith Lawson, (10) Mason Oberkramer, (11) Joseph Long, (12) Dale Armstrong, (13) Robert Baker, (14) Jon Mitchell, (15) Stacy Taylor, (16) Dewaine Hottinger, (17) Wesley Crutchfield, (18) Kenneth Jackson, (19) Henry Pullen, (20) Shawn Knuckles, (21) Tommy Surrett. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Culp, Cook, Surrett, Kirby.