Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video




Hesston Speedway

Dickson rallies late, wins $5,100 at Hesston

June 11, 2012, 12:05 pm
From track and correspondent reports
Nick Dickson shows off his earnings Sunday at Hesston (Pa.) Speedway. (pbase.com/cyberslash)
Nick Dickson shows off his earnings Sunday at Hesston (Pa.) Speedway. (pbase.com/cyberslash)

HESSTON, Pa. (June 10) — Recovering from an early caution that sent him to the rear, Nick Dickson of Lewistown, Pa., rallied Sunday at Hesston Speedway for a $5,100 victory on the Three State Flyers circuit.

Dickson, who originally started 15th in the 25-car field, took the checkers ahead of Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., in the Superthunder Road feature event at the half-mile oval. | Slideshow

Front-row starter Jeff Rine of Danville, Pa., was third followed by 14th-starting Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., and 22nd-starting Mike Lupfer of Shermansdale, Pa. Polesitter Alex Ferree of Saxonburg, Pa., finished 22nd.

Ferree led the first lap before Rine took command through lap 12. Satterlee led most of the race, taking over from Rine on the 13th lap and leading until Dickson made the winning pass with four laps remaining in the 51-lap event.

Notes: Dickson’s MasterSbilt by Huey car is powered by a Hershey’s Racing Engine and sponsored by Dickson’s Custom Exhaust, Speedwrapz, Dickson’s Alignment, JNJ Motorsports Media and Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic. ... The victory is Dickson’s third of the season. ... Drivers who failed to make the feature lineup (paid $155 apiece): Keith Barbara, Andrew Gordon, Shawn Claar, Coleby Frye, Tom Decker Jr., Andy Haus, Casey Fleegle, Quintin Wyandt, Chad McCellan, Steve Everhart, Chad Hollenbeck, Patrick Bryner, Derek Byler, Chris Casner and Mike Mort. ... Rick Singleton on the Limited Late Model feature. ... The Three State flyers return to Hesston on July 3 for another $5,100-to-win event. ... Next up for the series is a June 22-23 weekend in Virginia at Eastside Speedway in Waynesboro and Natural Bridge Speedway.

Superthunder Road: (1) Nick Dickson, (2) Gregg Satterlee, (3) Jeff Rine, (4) Jeremy Miller, (5) Mike Lupfer, (6) Jerry Bard, (7) Scott LeBarron, (8) Matt Parks, (9) Jim Yoder, (10) Jason Covert, (11) Dylan Yoder, (12) Devin Friese, (13) Mike Altobelli Jr., (14) Jack Pencil, (15) Tim Wilson, (16) Jeff Miller, (17) Bob Dunn, (18) Waylon Wagner, (19) Chris Harr, (20) Justin Kann, (21) Sammy Stile, (22) Alex Ferree, (23) D.J. Myers, (24) Greg Fetters, (25) Ron Delano Jr. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Rine, Satterlee, Covert, Parks, Friese. Consolation winners: Miller, Harr.