Login |


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video




Hartford Speedway

Hartford-ruling Hotovy gets Cup victory

June 23, 2012, 10:31 am
From track reports
J.R. Hotovy holds up the winner's paycheck. (Steve Datema)
J.R. Hotovy holds up the winner's paycheck. (Steve Datema)

HARTFORD, Mich. (June 22) — J.R. Hotovy did it all Friday night at Hartford Motor Speedway. Besides co-promoting the racetrack, the Covert, Mich., driver raced to a victory in the Allstar Performance Michigan Dirt Cup feature, and added a victory in the track’s modified division for good measure. | Slideshow

Hotovy rolled past polesitter Scott Schmitt of Tonica, Ill., on the third lap and led the rest of the S&S Agriculture 27 for a $1,500 payday on the first-year tour.

Hometown driver Curt Spalding grabbed the second spot on a mid-race restart but never seriously challenged Hotovy, who scored his fifth victory overall at the big half-mile oval and his third in a row.

Spalding was second while Tom Sprague Jr. of Muskegon, Mich., got the third spot. Rich Neiser of Fruitport, Mich., was fourth and Michigan Dirt Cup points leader Brandon Thirlby of Traverse City, Mich., rounded out the top five. Schmitt ended up sixth

Notes: Hotovy’s No. 13 is sponsored by S&S Agriculture, Borden’s Blueberry Farms, Founders Brewing and Allstar Performance. ... Curtis Roberts of Coleman, Mich., was knocked out of contention with a flat right-rear tire. ... Drivers failing to make the feature event: Keith Gentz, Bill Bray, Pat Harding, Mark Wagner, Delmar White, Bob Harden, Mark Andersen, Skip Moudy, Jeremy Ferguson, Dusty Moore and Sam Epling. ... Next up for the Michigan Dirt Cup is a June 29 event at Winston Motor Speedway in Rothbury, Mich.

S&S Agriculture 27: (1) J.R. Hotovy, (3) Curt Spalding, (3) Tom Sprague Jr., (4) Rich Neiser, (5) Brandon Thirlby, (6) Scott Schmitt, (7) Phil Ausra, (8) Alan Vochaska, (9) Brian Ruhlman, (10) Chad White, (11) Doug Ausra, (12) Eric Spangler, (13) Guy Volk, (14) Mark Pifer, (15) Larry Arndt, (16) Steve Ausra, (17) Curtis Roberts, (18) Ryan VanderVeen, (19) Brad Harden, (20) Zack Olger. Consolation race winner: White.