Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2022 08:10:17

Sponsor 743
August 21
Portsmouth Raceway Park,
Portsmouth, OH
Sanction: Unsanctioned Supers (Boone Coleman Gator 50) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated August 23, 11:42 am)
Gilpin steals Boone Coleman 50 at Portsmouth
Boone Coleman Gator 50
  1. Devin Gilpin
  2. Josh Rice
  3. R.J. Conley
  4. Jared Hawkins
  5. Colten Burdette
  6. Brandon Fouts
  7. Nick Bocook
  8. Rod Conley
  9. Mike Hildebrand
  10. Kirk Phillips
  11. Kevin Wagner
  12. David Webb
  13. Shannon Thornsberry
  14. Zack Dohm
  15. Steve Casebolt
  16. Nathon Loney
  17. Audie Swartz
  18. Josh Bocook
  19. Stephen Breeding
  20. Kenny Christy
presented by
Firehouse Photography
Devin Gilpin zips around Portsmouth Raceway Park.
What won the race: Eighth-starting Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., overtook race-long pacesetter R.J. Conley for the lead on lap 46 and controlled the remaining distance to capture Saturday's Boone Coleman Memorial Gator 50 at Portsmouth Raceway Park. The Hoosier crossed the finish line ahead of Josh Rice to earn a $5,000 paycheck.
Quotable: "This Josh Rice's deal up on the cushion and getting it on (and) we outdid him tonight," Gilpin said. "The racetrack had a lot of character to it so it made it really fun. You could go to the top or the bottom. I was going to be happy with third, but man, it's a lot better getting locked into the DTWC already. I didn't even know if I was going to come to the DTWC and now I'll be here. We're locked in with a heck of an opportunity to race for $100,000."
Key notes: By virtue of his victory, Gilpin is guaranteed a starting spot in October's Dirt Track World Championship at Portsmouth, a $100,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event. ... It was Gilpin's seventh overall triumph of 2021. ... Rice took second place from R.J. Conley on lap 47 and finished 1.197 seconds behind Gilpin. ... After leading the first 45 laps from the pole, R.J. Conley faded in the closing laps and settled for third. ... Saturday's feature, which the track's late founder, was slowed by three separate incidents and lasted 22 minutes; seven competitors completed all 50 laps.
On the move: Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., started 13th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Gilpin’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Indsoltech, Jason Clarkson Logging, South Central Roofing, Dasco Race Supply, Blondie’s Pizzeria & Pub, Freedom Fireworks, RJ Recycling, Right Auto Parts, Browns Oil Services, Weimiller Express, Arizona Sport Shirts, Accu-Force, KBC Graphix, Delph Communications, Beyea Headers and Eddie Gilstrap Motors.
Points chase: Entering the event, Brandon Fouts of Kite, Ky., led the track's weekly Super Late Model points.
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Brandon Fouts
Time: 14.678 seconds
Polesitter: R.J. Conley
Dash winner: R.J. Conley
Heat race winners: Kirk Phillips, Devin Gilpin
Consolation race winners: Kevin Wagner
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: R.J. Conley, Rice
Row 2: Fouts, Burdette
Row 3: N. Bocook, Breeding
Row 4: Phillips, Gilpin
Row 5: Rod Conley, Dohm
Row 6: Webb, Swartz
Row 7: Hawkins, Loney
Row 8: Christy, Hildebrand
Row 9: Wagner, Thornsberry
Row 10: Casebolt, J. Bocook

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728