Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/18/2019 22:49:16

Sponsor 743
August 13
Carolina Speedway,
Gastonia, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Gaston County Shrine 100) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 14, 9:43 pm)
Hamm cruises to Gaston County Shrine win
Gaston County Shrine 100
  1. Brett Hamm
  2. Trent Ivey
  3. Michael Brown
  4. Dennis Franklin
  5. Anthony Sanders
  6. Derrick Ramey
  7. Doug Sanders
  8. Brian Ledbetter
  9. Adam Yarbrough
  10. Brandon White
  11. Jason Eidson
  12. David Yandle
  13. Jeff Smith
presented by
Randy Houser
Brett Hamm shows off his checkered flag at Carolina Speedway.
What won the race: Leading flag-to-flag, outside front-row starter Brett Hamm of Newberry, S.C., dominated Tuesday’s 47th annual Gaston County Shrine 100 at Carolina Speedway. Hamm finished 3.138 seconds ahead of runner-up Trent Ivey in winning his fourth career Carolina Clash Series feature. He earned $4,000 for the 35-lap victory.
Quotable: “I just knew we had a good piece for the race, so I had to just be patient," Hamm said. "Luckily we stuck her in there on the first lap. (Polesitter Adam Yarbrough) kind of slid a little bit and I was able get her hooked up around the bottom and slide on by. From there, man, it was just an awesome piece."
Key notes: The victory was Hamm’s third Carolina Clash Series win of the season, first career Gaston County Shrine 100 win and backed up his triumph in the tour’s July 26 Skyler Trull Memorial at Carolina Speedway. … Ivey, of Union, S.C., finished second in the Trull Memorial also. … Hamm’s other series wins came March 30 at Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway and in 2016 at Modoc (S.C.) Raceway. … Hamm is the only tour’s only repeat winner in seven races this season. … Polesitter Adam Yarbrough of Denver, N.C., completed only 11 laps. … Derrick Ramey of Mooresville, N.C., lost a potential podium finish when he slipped from third to sixth on a lap-21 restart. … Three-time Gaston County Shrine 100 winner Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., completed just one lap. … Jonathan Jennings did not start the feature. … The series returns to Carolina Speedway on Oct. 12.
Winner's sponsors: Hamm's Barry Wright Race Car carries sponsorship from Hamm's Machine, Wilson Tractor, WP Racing Shocks, Collins Signs and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Before Carolina, Brett Hamm (646 points) of Newberry, S.C., led Dennis Franklin (614), Jeff Smith (604), David Yandle (548) and Anthony Sanders (511).
Current weather: Clear, 80°F
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Adam Yarbrough
Time: 15.849 seconds
Polesitter: Adam Yarbrough
Next series race: August 24, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Yarbrough, Hamm
Row 2: Ivey, Ramey
Row 3: Brown, Franklin
Row 4: A. Sanders, Smith
Row 5: D. Sanders, Ledbetter
Row 6: Yandle, White
Row 7: Eidson, Jennings

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728