Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

Baggett lands Whynot Fall Classic pole position

October 26, 2013, 1:55 am
From staff and correspondent reports
Neil Baggett starts on the pole Saturday at Whynot. (Heath Lawson)
Neil Baggett starts on the pole Saturday at Whynot. (Heath Lawson)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (Oct. 25) — Neil Baggett of Shannon, Miss., drove Randy Thompson’s No. K3 to a victory in the first heat Friday at Whynot Motorsports Park to earn Saturday’s pole position for the 19th annual Coors Light Fall Classic. | Video | Slideshow | Notebook

Baggett will start on the front row alongside Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., guest starring in a Louisiana-based Childress Racing entry, in Saturday’s $15,000-to-win main event.

“I believe we’re going to be pretty good,” Baggett said. “(Car owner) Randy Thompson, he’s got that car running good, and the equipment is second to none. Just a few tweaks and I believe we’ll be OK."

Besides Baggett and O’Neal, other Friday heat winners on a chilly evening were David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., Chris Smith of Brewton, Ala., and Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark. The six drivers will make up for the first three rows of the 24-car feature field.

Shane Clanton of Zebulon, Ga., topped 42 drivers in time trials, but his second-place finish in the first heat puts him in the fourth row Saturday in Whynot’s season-ender.

Notes: Two-time race winner Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, piloted one of Ray Moore’s cars and finished fifth in the fourth heat race; he’ll run a consolation race Saturday. … Klint Byars of Calhoun City, Miss., is making only his fifth appearance of the season. … The event also drew 42 Crate Late Models.

Friday’s heat race results

First heat: Neil Baggett, Shane Clanton, Jake Knowles, Bub McCool, Allen Murray, Clint Smith, Jamie Tollison.

Second heat: Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Eddie Rickman, Jason Fitzgerald, Dane Dacus, Jeremy Broadus, Keith Miller.

Third heat: David Breazeale, Klint Byars, Eric Cooley, Chris McElhenney, Austin Smith, Robbie Stuart, Justin McRee.

Fourth heat: Jeremy Payne, Ray Moore, Dennis Erb Jr., Morgan Bagley, Brian Birkhofer, Tyler Reddick, Chase Junghans.

Fifth heat: Chris Smith, Chad Thrash, Brian Rickman, Chris Wall, Jason Cliburn, Scott Dedwylder. Scratched: Jamie Elam.

Sixth heat: Wendell Wallace, Jason McBride, Kyle Beard, Jack Sullivan, Jimmy Cliburn, Leon Henderson.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Neil Baggett, Don O'Neal
Row 2: David Breazeale, Jeremy Payne
Row 3: Chris Smith, Wendell Wallace,
Row 4: Shane Clanton, Steve Francis
Row 5: Klint Byars, Ray Moore
Row 6: Chad Thrash, Jason McBride
Row 7: Jake Knowles, Eddie Rickman
Row 8: Eric Cooley, Dennis Erb Jr.
Row 9: Brian Rickman, Kyle Beard
Row 10: Consolation transfers
Row 11: Consolation transfers

Row 12: Consolation transfers

Consolation lineups

First consolation
Row 1: Bub McCool, Chris McElhenney
Row 2: Chris Wall, Allen Murray
Row 3: Austin Smith, Jason Cliburn
Row 4: Clint Smith, Robbie Stuart
Row 5: Scott Dedwylder, Jamie Tollison
Row 6: Justin McRee, Jamie Elam
Second consolation
Row 1: Jason Fitzgerald, Morgan Bagley
Row 2: Jack Sullivan, Dane Dacus
Row 3: Brian Birkhofer, Jimmy Cliburn
Row 4: Jeremy Broadus, Tyler Reddick
Row 5: Leon Henderson, Keith Miller
Row 6: Chase Junghans
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728